Network data transfer

• Lefty
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: North Dakota, United States

Post 3+ Months Ago

As a system admin I have 14 servers. One of them is out of space, the problem is I have 300 plus users and am trying to repartition the shared drive "without" losing any of the data. I know I can get partition magic, but it doesn't support sub directories in the hundreds, I also have a time issue. I can't complete this during normal work hours, so an over night solution or weekend one has to be it. The drive and data is 600 gigs.

My two thought are this:
1. Network cross over cable
2. USB data transfer cable

Copy the data and shared drives to another new computer with a 200+gig HDD. The shared drives are no more than 100-150 gigs.

Any ideas would be great.

Thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• lucassix
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

Maybe there is a more technological way to do it but I like the crossover cable idea. Send out a NOTAM to your users and say the shared drive will be unavailable from the end of work Friday to beginning of work Monday. At the end of the day, butt the servers back to back with a crossover cable (I am assuming they are close by) and copy the files over. This way you can ensure 1. no one will be trying to open/modify the files while you are transfering them and 2. the full bandwith of the connection will be dedicated to the transfering of the files, not burning up bandwith on any switches or routers.
  • Lefty
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: North Dakota, United States

Post 3+ Months Ago