Overclocking

• alamode
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: Pakistan

Post 3+ Months Ago

What exactly is overclocking ? Ive heard this word alot but never understood what it actually means. Also whatever it is how can i overclock my graphic card ?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• hiryux
  • Student
  • Student

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm no expert in oc'ing... but if you're looking for a conceptual definition, I think we could summarize it in the following statement:

"Overclocking allows your hardware to do what vendors say it should not be able to do"

Most hardware are able to go a little bit faster than what they are set to... usually, it is basically juicing up the power going in different places of the hardware, making it work harder and faster.

This also brings overhead in heat, which is why you should always overclock in SMALL INCREMENTS, and test it... u don't want to fry it...

Most graphics cards come with a overclocking software... radlinker for ATI is an example... I think Asus are a little bit better for overclocking, at least that's what they were known for when I looked them up, about 5 or so years ago...

Anyway, I'm sure I'm missing a whole lot of stuff, as I said, I'm no overclock guru...

But some things you should always be attentive to is:

1. Temperature under load (and not)
2. System stability after overclocking
3. Surrounding hardware's temperature and integrity.

If you're really careful and take care of these points, you should be safe in overclocking your computer ^^
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

Overclocking is simply increasing the "Clock" speeds of certain components within your computer.