Problems with home network

• pakhunter
  • Born
  • Born
  • pakhunter

Post 3+ Months Ago

Fisrt of all thanks for taking the time to help me with this problem. Im new to networking and such so forgive me if i dont give enough information, i'll try to be as clear as i can.

Right now i have two computers hooked up to a Ethernet 10/100 Hub. I also have a cable modem hooked up to it as well, which both computers share the internet from. Neither computer is directly connected to the other (i.e. no file/printer sharing).

A few days ago the main computer (which the cable modem was orginally connected to before i setup the HUB) started having problems connecting to the internet. I check the network connections for the card (Realtek RTL8139 Famliy PCI Fast Ethernet NIC) and saw under packet activity that the card was sending, but not recieving (i assume that means any information that goes through the network). The other computer had no problems (The card on the second computer is a Linksys NC100 Fast Ethernet Adapter).

I called the company (Charter Communications) and was told that they recently changed the package they offer which may have caused the problem. The guy had me disconnect the cable modem for about a minute, and then reconnect it. Once done the computer connected fine but now the same problem is happening to the second computer.

The problem is i still dont know what is the cause of the problem. When i hooked up the two computers to the hub all i had to do was plug in the cables for the two computers and the cable modem, and it worked fine. So does anyone have any ideas. Did i not give enough info? Any help would be appreciated.
  • ShEDeViL
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago