HP Proliant DL380 G3 memory

  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have a HP Proliant DL380 G3 with windows server 2003 (enterprise edition)I recently upgraded the memory from 3 gbs to 5 gbs, BIOS shows that I do have 5 gbs, but when I go to Control Panel-->Systems, on the general info tab, it only shows 3.75 gbs :? ..... could anyone please help me figure this out?...

thank you very much
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

If you run the systeminfo command from a command prompt, you'll see a third number. It might have something to do with the pagefile. I don't remember. I set mine to system managed when I added RAM.
  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

What I dont understand its why is taking so much memory, I did the same thing with me Dell Poweredge 1750, and It shows close the amount that I upgraded it to.

Image

Will it be a good Idea to reduce the page file?...
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

No, not at all. That might make the system slower.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 4 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.