Randomly Rebooting! help please!

• DirkGent
  • Born
  • Born
  • DirkGent

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok,

So I'm a newbie trying my hand at building my own computer. The system I build has these components.

New Intel Prescott 3.2ghz 800 fsb
New Abit IS-20 Micro ATX Motherboard
New Cooler Master Fan/heatsink
New Corsair 512 MB Ram DDR 400 (1x)
and I'm reusing 2 Hard Drives , IDE. one 80gig and one 20gig.
reusing a 1x DVD burner.
I have a 500W power supply that is too big for my case, so it sits on top.
I'm also using onboard video, sound, and LAN.

The problem I'm having is 1, the DDR 400 is being read as 333. Don't know why.

2nd problem, and more importantly is my computer just reboots at random. Seems to do it when I try to do something "intensive"? Happens when I try to burn a disk, or just copy over 300mb file from one HD to the next. Sometimes it will do it when I"m just surfing the net, although that takes a lot longer.

I tried running Memtester.. but that automatically causes a reboot. I was having this problem early on.. and when I got the 500watt power supply, it seemed to help a lot. Instead of rebooting after trying to install anything, now its much less often. I dont think its a Temprature problem, and I should have more than enough Power to run my system.

ANY ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks.
Dirk
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• TomK
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

It is most likely a power supply issue (what brand is your power supply?) or a heat problem. Try testing the temperatures of your CPU, Video Card, etc.

Also try taking out parts one by one and see if it works without rebooting (ex. Take out video card and try doing stuff).
  • Martin
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Martin
  • Loc: Berlin

Post 3+ Months Ago

Spontaneous rebooting is often caused by faulty, mismatched, or simply the wrong type of memory for your motherboard.