server no boot

  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

i have a server i built .. i bought a new case for it this week from newegg and now it will not boot.

i have reset cmos even though i didnt think it would do anything

anyone have any ideas ..

system specs,

2 wd 40 gig drives
2 HITACHI Deskstar T7K250 250GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA133 Hard Drive
1 Maxtor DiamondMax 250GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA133 Hard Drive
AMD Sempron 2400+ Thoroughbred 1.667GHz Socket A
Foxconn K7S741GXMG-6L Socket A (Socket 462) SiS 741GX Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
Kingston HyperX 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 333 (PC 2700)

all running server 2003, but it wont even post

all fans turn on and it just sits there
ide drives spin up only when not attached to ide ports
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Are you sure that the monitor didn't go bad? I've had that happen to me. I would hear the fans and the HD but nothing on the screen.

If that's not the problem, either something isn't grounded or the memory is bad or not seated properly.
  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

i thought the same thing ... reseated everything again , (after your reply) and still nothing ... im honestly thinking it sounds like a dead mobo .. maybe i shorted something when installing

im just thinking im missing something ... tomorrow im goign to try the mobo in another case to see if its my psu not producing enough power
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

And what about the monitor? Try another one.
  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

no it works fine ... forgot to mention that ... its running on a kvm, but i wired it directly and still no change


also none of the drives spin up when attached
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Then it's a hardware problem for sure. Try a ground strap from the corner mount on the mobo to somewhere on the case and even though the memory is seated properly, remove one stick if there is more than one and then swap it with the other. Or try different memory altogether.
  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

would try it if i had more ... but it worked the other day .. i moved it from one case to another and thats when this problem arose ... but i will try the grounding
  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

nothing on grounding ..
  • Merlyn
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1143
  • Loc: Oregon

Post 3+ Months Ago

Sounds like a motherboard failure. But I would check the PSU connection to the mobo.
  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

i have a question ... i did figure out it was the psu, now my question is i have a 20 pin mobo connector ... and no 4 pin cpu power connector ... would a 20+4 psu connector work fine? my old case had an old hp psu with just 20 pins, would i need to buy a special psu, or will the one with the case be fine?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Doesn't that depend on the mobo specs as set by the manufacturer?
  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

yes it does ... which i am not sure of, but i am asking in general about mobo connectors ... the psu has a 20+4 pin connector and my mobo uses an older 20 pin connection
  • deathblade
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 419
  • Loc: u.k

Post 3+ Months Ago

you said you changed the case will i did this and my computer wouldn't boot after looking i found out that it was the mobo touching the case you might wonna check it out
  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

i thought that too ... thats the groundign issue from above ... currently waiting on new psu from newegg
  • linknz
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • linknz
  • Posts: 11
  • Loc: Levin, New Zealand

Post 3+ Months Ago

If I were you I would remove the power supply connections and then take out the video card and any other cards within the system.
Give the memory modules a clean with methalated spirit and reseat them back into the slots, also clean all the other boards with meths as well.
Some power supplies don't start pushing out power until some current is drawn from within so it may be just a loose connection.
Disconnect everything from the computer like printers and scanners then try it again.
It is unusual for boards to die for no reason they are mostly very reliable.
  • crashdan
  • Student
  • Student
  • crashdan
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

it was a dead psu ... doa to be exact, i got a new one

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 16 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.