server question.

• Gnome_101
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

My friend and I are looking into buying a new server to run a PHP/HTML site with some really detailed interactive flash.
We are leaning towards an AMD machine. Our current thought is a dual opteron board with about a gig of ecc memory.

Currently were are running a PHP forum, and a html web-site from a intel celeron 733 Mhz and it can't cut the cheese.

Would a dual 1.6Ghz operton run the forum with ease?
I am very new to serving, and was surprised that a 733 couldn't handle it.

Thanks for your time,

Kris
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Johan007
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Aldershot, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Depends how many visitors you have but a dedicated 733MHz should have been more than enough for all your needs but have you tried moving from Access db to SQL or even SQL back to Access (Access can be faster for low traffic!).

Flash does not usually require any significant server side unless connecting to databases.

Also your image on every page is very large but I dont think that effects it much.

How much RAM have you got?
  • ccb056
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

yeah, databases are more ram dependant that cpu dependant
  • Gnome_101
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

There is ~390MB in the machine, but it's running at a slow bus speed(PC100 memory on a 66 MHz bus). So what you are saying is a dual opteron server with 4GB of ram should be enough to serve a PHP forum? Cool! Thanks for your help!
  • Johan007
  • Guru
  • Guru

Post 3+ Months Ago

Depends how much traffic you get and by looking at your site I think your forum should run fine on your current spec. Your server is not shared is it???
  • Gnome_101
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

What do you mean shared?