CD Speakers wont work on pc anymore

• Lanky
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Lanky

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok i have a philips fwm589 and i have been using the speakers on my pc for about 3 years now and for some reason they have stopped working. I connect to my pc with a white and red wire from the speakers in an aux point on my pc soundcard. If i turn on my pc with the speakers connected it says in control panel that the speakers are working and i can see if i play music the green bar goes up and down so its trying to output sound, but my speakers make a blurry noise and you can JUST hear the sound when the volume is max. I tried playing a cd on the speakers and the speakers worked fine. I also tried connecting my speakers to my television and the same thing happens when i connect it to my pc, the speakers just go blurry, is there anything i can do to get sound working from my pc on my speakers? Or any other way i can connect my speakers to my pc? Btw im using windows vista if that helps, thanks.
  • spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Have you tried using a different sound card?
  • grishamist
  • Student
  • Student
  • grishamist

Post 3+ Months Ago

Try to replace your speakers. Your sound card seems to work fine.
  • righteous_trespasser
  • Scuffle
  • Genius
  • Loc: South-Africa

Post 3+ Months Ago

grishamist wrote:
Try to replace your speakers. Your sound card seems to work fine.

How can you say that?

Anyway, I had the same issue the other day, I went and bought a new sound card (my first one ever) and everything worked fine ... except for on my kubuntu installation I had to disable the onboard sound in the BIOS for them to work ...
  • netrider7880
  • Student
  • Student
  • netrider7880

Post 3+ Months Ago