Strange occurence

• Devilofosaka
  • Born
  • Born
  • Devilofosaka

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi guys, I've been running windows 2K on this box for the past two years or so. Recently, it kept restarting over and over again and hammering me with a blue screen error that was too quick to catch about the registry. So I figured eh what the heck, rather than go into the reg and hammer the problem out, that it was time for a routine box whipe anyway. I uninstalled windows and tried to put 2K back on there and it kept nailing me with an IRQL not equal or less than error. So naturally I do some card swapping ect and it still hits me with it. So I tried a different OS windows XP and it still hit me with it. Then I placed Lindows on there and it works fine. I remove lindows and try to put a microsoft product back on there and it still nails me with it every single time.

Any idea on what it could be? I havent added anything new to this box in quite sometime and before it started nailing me with those errors I hadnt installed anything. I also noticed that my proc had been hitting as high as 54 degrees C without an overclock. Which is insanely high considering when I did have it sitting on a slight OC it peaked 45 degrees C max and before the OC was only at 34 degrees C. Im just curious as to if maybe I have damaged the proc. But if the proc were damaged then it shouldnt work flawlessly with Lindows should it? Im at a complete loss. I've swapped cards, harddrives, memory sticks, and everything else I can think of and have still achieved next to nothing. Being on Lindows is pure torture because Im a Linux nub. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
  • Wild Child
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Wild Child

Post 3+ Months Ago

try running memtest x86 sounds to me like your ram has given out.

WC
  • GT500Shlby
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Devilofosaka wrote: