in the market for a new computer---

• susancbk
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • susancbk
  • Loc: New York City

Post 3+ Months Ago

So i'm a multimedia student and I'm in the market for a new computer.

As much as i'd love a mac- I don't think I'm going to get one at this stage...they cost more, I know pc's better, and I can't even run ie 6.0 on a mac- which is what 86% of the web population uses... which makes me wonder how so many web developers use macs.

So i've been thinking about PC's ... and I was thinking about the Sony Vaios. People seem to enjoy these--- what is it about them that's so good? What other brands should I look into?

Here's the heavier programs I run- photoshop, flash, director, etc. I'd like to even to do even some video editing/adobe premiere. This being said- what are the more important things I should be looking for ...ram...processor...etc....

My price range is $800-$1000.

Anyone have thoughts/suggestions?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• TomK
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Honestly, your best choice would be to build your own computer. Do you need an entirely new setup or will yo be reusing parts? I'll show you a nice setup you can get if you build.
  • susancbk
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • susancbk
  • Loc: New York City

Post 3+ Months Ago

I need an entirely new setup. I have a laptop now.

How much money would I save (if I do save) by building?
I haven't dealt with building computers since high school, so i'm not sure if i'd be up to the challenge.
  • roarmeow
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: BKNY

Post 3+ Months Ago

you'd probably save 50% of your money as far as the hardware goes, although a lot of companies package their computers with software, which can cost a pretty penny, too...
you'd still save a lot anyways...