Im thinking about over clocking

• CompMaster
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • CompMaster

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok, I just built a new computer by meself. First one I have ever done. I am very well educated in computer knowledege, basicly self taught, so I know my stuff. Here's what i got in my system.

P4 3.0Ghz Prescott Core HT Technology
2 Ultra 512 sticks of RAM (400Mhz)
80 gig HDD
256MB GeForce FX 5700 LE
1 CPU fan
2 case fans (one on the side panel taking in air, and one in the back under power supply blowing out air)
400 Watt powersupply
Windows XP Pro SP2- Corp. Edition (No activation addition)

Ok, I am having some issues that i have never seen before, that i dont understand why is happening. So i have a few questions.

1: I have 2 sticks of 512 DDR RAM both 400Mhz, and I also just recived a free 266Mhz 512 DDR RAM. My question is if i put that extra stick in, will it slow down my computer in any way?

2: I am have some difficulties with my OS, with some programs that I have on Windows XP sometimes they fail alot or freeze up for a minute or 2. Example Mozilla Firefox, it freezes evertime I go to a new site. Whats the problem?

3: Im thinking of over clocking. How do I do it and should i do it?

Thanks in Advance
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Fernanditen

Post 3+ Months Ago

1: If you already had 1GB of ram, you don't need more unless you work with huge databases. You can't just combine 2 different speed DIMMS because the hole system will work at the lowest speed.

2: May be a bunch of different causes. Does your ram running at the SPD speed? o is it running with a latency below it's desing?

3: If you want to overclock your system you need to have a convenient CPU cooler so the temperature won't rise high and loose the system stability.

Wait until the experts here at OZZU tell what they think. :)
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago