What's the computer you're using?

  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

darkermoon wrote:
twmspro wrote:
Wow i beat you there dude. I have a p2 300 over here runnin server2003 and it runs fine. I host my website on it.


how the heck did you get 2003 to install on that machine?



I originally had windows xp pro installed and the iso i had would not load on start-up. So i chose to upgrade from xp pro to server 2003. Thats how I did it. Of course i had to look around for new drivers for my network card so i had to remove the card, get the serial number, reinstall the card. Go on the internet with my xp/longhorn machine, download the drivers, and burn em to a cd. Then all i did was get winrar on the server, extract the drivers, then install em. The network was a huge problem but i got that fixed. I run the server from remote desktop admin so it feels slow with the latency. Plus the network card is only 10mbps so you can imaging how it feels.

The ram really helps out in the end.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • r0w3LLicious
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 8

Post 3+ Months Ago

Juggs wrote:
no need to be maybe we should start a thread saying, oldest machine still being used.


my stuff is certainly qualified for that..here it goes:

intel celeron 400mhz
asus mobo (at/atx - but i have ATX PS in an AT casing )
320mb sd ram
32mb geforce2 vga
20gb hdd
x-wave sound card
17" crt monitor
cd-burner
dvd rom

and to top it all..i have winxp pro sp2 running in it and it works just fine! :D
  • Xel02
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Xel02
  • Posts: 261

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have a test server thats pretty old:

Originall IBM Aptiva
AMD K6 233MHz
32MB SDRAM
4x CD-ROM
Onboard Sound and Video
3GB HDD

I upgrade the ram to 320MB and run FreeBSD. :D
  • SSH-Raj
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 588

Post 3+ Months Ago

darkermoon wrote:
twmspro wrote:
Wow i beat you there dude. I have a p2 300 over here runnin server2003 and it runs fine. I host my website on it.


how the heck did you get 2003 to install on that machine?

i've gotten it to run on an old p1 133mhz server. i also had 2000 pro, win 98, xp pro, and xp media center on it. lol
  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

Crap Raj. Thats nuts!!! Old machines are a lot of fun. LOL. I wish i could get a new cd drive, monitor and a 20gb hdd for my server so i can try out red hat 9 and see how it runs. That'd be fun.

I have a friend that might give me that monitor. I just need a normal cd rom drive and a hdd. I could probably go to some comp festival and steal a hard drive out of there. LOL
  • think.correctly
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1461
  • Loc: markham, ontario

Post 3+ Months Ago

6 Day old Computer (named it “rarr?!”)
OS: XP Pro Retail CD
Monitor: 22 inch CRT
Case: Blue Chieftec Case
CPU: AMD 3400+ w/1600MHz FSB and 512 KB Cache ~2.2 GHz
Motherboard: Abit AV8
Memory: 2×512 MB (1024 MB total) dual channel PC 3200
Hard Drive: Hitachi 250 GB SATA drive, 10GB partition, and 240GB partition.
Video Card: Leadtek A400 GT (6800) @ 256 MB
Built in SoundCard
Optical Drive: 16x8x16x DVD+RW / 4x DVD±R DL / 48x24x48x CD-RW /
External Wireless USB Adapter
Integrated Gigabit Ethernet
  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

that AMD 3400 is a 64bit right? or is it a fx-55 thingy?
  • think.correctly
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1461
  • Loc: markham, ontario

Post 3+ Months Ago

no, the 3400 is a 64 bit
  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

awesome. Never had a chance to run on one of those puppies. They seem to be intel 3.6 p4ees.
  • grimshit
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 303
  • Loc: Wiltshire, England

Post 3+ Months Ago

4ss_munk3y youve got a better setup than you said you were going to get for christmas, well done :P....

http://www.c627627.com/AMD/Athlon64/ check out the "socket M2" dual core chips, they look damned cool

*plum*
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

They do look pretty tasty.

That said, have you seen the new "Cell Chips" that Sony and IBM have developed for the PS3 ?

They are hoping to develope them more so they can be incorporated into home appliances like your kettle and TV.

They are also thinking about perhaps using it for PCs.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/4246569.stm
  • think.correctly
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1461
  • Loc: markham, ontario

Post 3+ Months Ago

i heard about the cell chips, this came out 3 days after i got my computer. it made me feel real bad, but then i clocked it and it kicks A$$!
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

Cell Specs :

Faster than 4 GHz
256 billion calculations per second
2.5MB of on-chip memory
Able to shuttle data to and from off-chip memory at speeds up to 100 gigabytes per second,
234 million transistors

For a processor no bigger than a pin, thats some pretty amazing power.
  • Skirge
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Skirge
  • Posts: 774
  • Loc: nashua nh

Post 3+ Months Ago

ur pc makes no sense they dont have 4 ghz processors
  • think.correctly
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1461
  • Loc: markham, ontario

Post 3+ Months Ago

hes not talking about his computer. there is a new type of processor called the "cell" processor.
it is rumored to have speeds of 4 ghz up to 8 ghz


http://www.gizmodo.com
http://www.engadget.com

both good resources for news that may develop on this topic
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

Skirge wrote:
ur pc makes no sense they dont have 4 ghz processors


http://www.itweek.co.uk/news/1129582 <-- Intel 4Ghz CPU

Also it is possible to O/C a CPU to get to 4Ghz.

From the spec list I supplied that would have been the last thing I would have been curious about.

The fact is has 234 million transistors & a 100 Gb/ps transfer rate would have caught my eye before that.
  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

wait till they stick those things in video cards! Thats gonna be amazing. Major hsf here we come hahaha.
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

I would presume they dont give out too much heat otherwise it would be viable to put it in a games console.

May be wrong.
  • think.correctly
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1461
  • Loc: markham, ontario

Post 3+ Months Ago

i don't know, only "one" on a gfx card?
they seem kinda small, im thinking ten
muahahahahahaahaha :evil:
they do seem intersting. i wonder when they will be commercially availible. i have to start building up my war effort to get one NOW if it comes out anytime within the next 3 years
  • Fitness4Living
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 330
  • Loc: Belfast, Ireland

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi

I have a Sony Vaio laptop with Windows XP
Pentium 4 2.8 GHz
512 MB RAM
Plus a massive screen, dont know exact measurements

What do you guys have??
  • Skirge
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Skirge
  • Posts: 774
  • Loc: nashua nh

Post 3+ Months Ago

custom pc in a Antec superlanboy case

1280 mb ram: 1 256 mb stick 1 1024 mb stick
80 gb hd
P4 2.4ghz
Ati Radeon9600se 128 mb
soundblaster 24-bit soundcard
cd +- RW drive 52x
Dvd drive 16x
17 inch lcd monitor on the left
15 inch crt monitor on the right Dual monitors
  • grimshit
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 303
  • Loc: Wiltshire, England

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hmm, ive got:-

3000+ Winchester Athlon 64 (Soon to be a 3200+ Venice)
DFI LanParty SLI-DR
1 PX6600GT Leadtek grapfics card
1 13Gb HD for windows
1 160Gb Western Digital Caviar for games, music and movies
1Gb of GeIL ram
all wrapped in a lovely green Cheiftec Dragon Tower
  • Fitness4Living
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 330
  • Loc: Belfast, Ireland

Post 3+ Months Ago

very nice, im thinking of buying a new PC and creating a home network to boost my website business
  • IMP_Batch
  • Student
  • Student
  • IMP_Batch
  • Posts: 65

Post 3+ Months Ago

heres my beast(lol)

asus a8n-E Mobo
amd 64 3000+ Venice OCed @ 2.3Ghz
GeForce 6600GT PCI-E
2x Geil 512MB RAM
120GB IDE HDD
1x dvd rom
1x floppy drive
colourful fans... awww
  • lhuser
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 96
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

1st PC

AMD Athlon 1350MHZ
512MB of RAM DDR400 PC3200
32MB Nvidia Riva TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 PRO AGP
40GB Maxtor
60GB Maxtor
OS: Windows ME

2nd PC

IBM Aptiva M41
Intel P1 100MHZ
1Gb Quantum HDD
6GB Quantum HDD
40MB RAM
1MB Trident card
OS: Windows 95c (May change to Linux)
  • Uncle_Slappy
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 52
  • Loc: McMinnville, OR

Post 3+ Months Ago

Okay...here we go.

2.8GHz P-4 (Prescott)
Intel D875PBZ MoBo
1GB Corsair XMS
80GB Western Digital SATA
80GB Western Digital IDE
120 GB Western Digital IDE
Dual boot system with Windows XP Professional and SuSe Linux 9.2 Pro
Audigy 2 Platinum sound card
gForce FX-5700 256MB AGP Video
52x32x52 CD-r /-rw
8x DVD +- r Burner
Power is provided by Antec Neo 480W PSU
All of this is nicely tucked into an Antec PlusView 1000AMG with a couple of cold cathode lights.

It is not the fastest thing on the planet but it works nicely for me
  • Kap-Vu
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 119
  • Loc: Indianapolis, IN

Post 3+ Months Ago

you all make me jealous... :(

right now i have a store bought sony vaio desktop

P4 1.5Ghz
512 Ram
ATI Radeon 9600XT
80G hard drive
dual monitor set-up

but if you go to my other topic "what cpu should i get?", you can see my new computer i'm gonna build. :D

later!

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 57 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.