Repairing a laptop dc power jack

• TsX
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

I received a laptop with broken power plugin. After soldering the piece back together, I tried to plug it in to see in the LED for charging would come on, but had no luck. My only thought was maybe it needed to be fully assembled to "complete the circuit".

Of course I can check this myself, but in case it still doesn't work I will be back to the soldering iron. This is my first attempt at soldering a power plugin back onto a laptop motherboard, so I'm just looking to get some feedback from people who have done this before.

Maybe I need to replace the entire piece? As it is cracked...

Thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do you have any way to include some photos ?

When you say "cracked", I start to wonder if one of the PCB channels is severed. When you say "first attempt at soldering a", I start to wonder if you used too much solder and inadvertently shorted the lead to something else.
  • willjackson
  • Born
  • Born
  • willjackson

Post 3+ Months Ago

I think it would be best if bring you laptop to a computer shop for repair, i think if you continue on this one if may create a bidder problem on the laptop.
  • TsX
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

Took me awhile to find my digital, but I finally managed some pics.

First one here is the back side and the solder job I did. Its a little hefty, but I figured I should be able to test it at least. No luck. Also I wonder if those top 2 spots are possible connections? I didn't see anything from the jack that suggested it connects there.

This here is the topside, you can see the crack in the plastic. I added some crappy glue to hold it together while I was working on it. I read that I can buy this piece for cheap, usually on ebay.