wireless and lan?

  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am trying to make it where i have internet off my wireless and be connected to my network via lan.

Problem when the lan adapter is enabled and it will not let me get on the internet.. Is there a way that i can make it where i can still use network..


I need my other computer connected through lan because it is my server and files that are on the server i need to be transferable back and foward from my computer to the server....

I am getting internet from my friend that is why it is wireless..
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Tell us a little more about the setup. For example:
Friend's modem > router > your wireless NIC
your server > your router > your wired NIC

In other words you can have a wireless NIC to his internet connection and a wired NIC to your router at the same time. That would give you internet and access to your server.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

wireless internet> mycomputer ----- USB DIVICE
server>router -----LAN
my computer>router -----LAN

is it posible to access my server while still being connected to my wireless internet..?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

It's possible to have one wireless connection and one wired connection at the same time. You didn't say but I assume the LAN is wired. If that's the case each network adapter can have an IP address and both can be active.

Go into network connections > and look at the properties on each. TCP/IP
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

everytime that i try that to have both connections on then i dont have internet... my internet is comming through the wireless.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

What happens if you disconnect the LAN? Do you have internet then?
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

correct
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Connect one and run netstat -ano from the command prompt. Then disconnect that one and connect the other one. Run the command again. Do that with no other windows opened. Post the results here.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

This is my wireless connection
C:\******\*******>netstat -ano

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
TCP 0.0.0.0:135 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1000
TCP 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP 0.0.0.0:5051 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 10212
TCP 0.0.0.0:5101 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 10212
TCP 0.0.0.0:8254 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:1027 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2412
TCP 127.0.0.1:2071 127.0.0.1:27015 ESTABLISHED 5280
TCP 127.0.0.1:2169 127.0.0.1:8254 ESTABLISHED 10188
TCP 127.0.0.1:2173 127.0.0.1:8254 ESTABLISHED 10188
TCP 127.0.0.1:2702 127.0.0.1:8254 ESTABLISHED 2580
TCP 127.0.0.1:2704 127.0.0.1:8254 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP 127.0.0.1:4217 127.0.0.1:8254 ESTABLISHED 2384
TCP 127.0.0.1:5354 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1996
TCP 127.0.0.1:8254 127.0.0.1:2169 ESTABLISHED 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:8254 127.0.0.1:2173 ESTABLISHED 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:8254 127.0.0.1:2702 ESTABLISHED 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:8254 127.0.0.1:4217 ESTABLISHED 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:12025 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2212
TCP 127.0.0.1:12110 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12119 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12143 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:27015 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 5972
TCP 127.0.0.1:27015 127.0.0.1:2071 ESTABLISHED 5972
TCP 192.168.1.9:139 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP 192.168.1.9:1947 216.155.193.185:23 ESTABLISHED 10212
TCP 192.168.1.9:1979 68.142.233.139:443 ESTABLISHED 10212
TCP 192.168.1.9:2018 207.46.109.57:1863 ESTABLISHED 2972
TCP 192.168.1.9:2019 64.12.189.217:443 ESTABLISHED 3696
TCP 192.168.1.9:2023 205.188.8.197:443 ESTABLISHED 3300
TCP 192.168.1.9:2055 205.188.9.118:443 ESTABLISHED 3300
TCP 192.168.1.9:2056 205.188.8.64:443 ESTABLISHED 3300
TCP 192.168.1.9:2057 205.188.9.49:443 ESTABLISHED 3300
TCP 192.168.1.9:2065 205.188.74.125:5190 ESTABLISHED 3696
TCP 192.168.1.9:2213 69.90.230.243:80 ESTABLISHED 1976
UDP 0.0.0.0:445 *:* 4
UDP 0.0.0.0:1025 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1026 *:* 1996
UDP 0.0.0.0:1036 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1037 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1038 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1040 *:* 2972
UDP 0.0.0.0:1046 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1047 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:3776 *:* 1060
UDP 0.0.0.0:4070 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:4936 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:5051 *:* 10212
UDP 0.0.0.0:9370 *:* 1024
UDP 0.0.0.0:9371 *:* 3336
UDP 127.0.0.1:123 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1045 *:* 2580
UDP 127.0.0.1:1406 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1431 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1657 *:* 2972
UDP 127.0.0.1:1673 *:* 3696
UDP 127.0.0.1:1765 *:* 3300
UDP 127.0.0.1:1900 *:* 500
UDP 127.0.0.1:1957 *:* 10212
UDP 127.0.0.1:2149 *:* 10188
UDP 192.168.1.9:9 *:* 2972
UDP 192.168.1.9:123 *:* 1108
UDP 192.168.1.9:137 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.9:138 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.9:1900 *:* 500
UDP 192.168.1.9:1989 *:* 10212
UDP 192.168.1.9:1990 *:* 10212
UDP 192.168.1.9:1992 *:* 10212
UDP 192.168.1.9:1993 *:* 10212
UDP 192.168.1.9:5353 *:* 1996
UDP 192.168.1.9:10889 *:* 2972
UDP 192.168.1.9:44205 *:* 2972



Wired connection
C:\*****\********>netstat -ano

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
TCP 0.0.0.0:135 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1000
TCP 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP 0.0.0.0:8254 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:1027 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2412
TCP 127.0.0.1:2071 127.0.0.1:27015 ESTABLISHED 5280
TCP 127.0.0.1:2169 127.0.0.1:8254 ESTABLISHED 10188
TCP 127.0.0.1:2173 127.0.0.1:8254 ESTABLISHED 10188
TCP 127.0.0.1:2745 127.0.0.1:8254 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP 127.0.0.1:4217 127.0.0.1:8254 ESTABLISHED 2384
TCP 127.0.0.1:5354 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1996
TCP 127.0.0.1:8254 127.0.0.1:2169 ESTABLISHED 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:8254 127.0.0.1:2173 ESTABLISHED 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:8254 127.0.0.1:4217 ESTABLISHED 1976
TCP 127.0.0.1:12025 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2212
TCP 127.0.0.1:12110 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12119 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12143 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:27015 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 5972
TCP 127.0.0.1:27015 127.0.0.1:2071 ESTABLISHED 5972
TCP 192.168.1.9:2748 207.68.178.61:80 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP 192.168.1.100:139 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP 192.168.1.100:2775 192.168.1.104:139 ESTABLISHED 4
TCP 192.168.1.100:2776 205.188.74.125:5190 SYN_SENT 3696
UDP 0.0.0.0:445 *:* 4
UDP 0.0.0.0:1025 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1026 *:* 1996
UDP 0.0.0.0:1036 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1037 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1038 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1040 *:* 2972
UDP 0.0.0.0:1046 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1047 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:3776 *:* 1060
UDP 0.0.0.0:4070 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:4936 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:9370 *:* 1024
UDP 0.0.0.0:9371 *:* 3336
UDP 127.0.0.1:123 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1045 *:* 2580
UDP 127.0.0.1:1406 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1431 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1657 *:* 2972
UDP 127.0.0.1:1673 *:* 3696
UDP 127.0.0.1:1765 *:* 3300
UDP 127.0.0.1:1900 *:* 500
UDP 127.0.0.1:1957 *:* 10212
UDP 127.0.0.1:2149 *:* 10188
UDP 192.168.1.100:123 *:* 1108
UDP 192.168.1.100:137 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.100:138 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.100:1900 *:* 500
UDP 192.168.1.100:5353 *:* 1996
UDP 192.168.1.100:9452 *:* 2972
UDP 192.168.1.100:15424 *:* 2972


[/list]
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do one more thing with the netstat -ano
Connect both and run it again. You should see both 192.168.1.9 and 192.168.1.100 active at the same time. The fact that they are on the same subnet might be a problem.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

Both connections

C:\****\*****>netstat -ano

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
TCP 0.0.0.0:135 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1000
TCP 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP 0.0.0.0:8254 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 11188
TCP 127.0.0.1:1027 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2412
TCP 127.0.0.1:2071 127.0.0.1:27015 ESTABLISHED 5280
TCP 127.0.0.1:4393 127.0.0.1:8254 CLOSE_WAIT 10188
TCP 127.0.0.1:4916 127.0.0.1:8254 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP 127.0.0.1:4920 127.0.0.1:8254 ESTABLISHED 2580
TCP 127.0.0.1:5354 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1996
TCP 127.0.0.1:8254 127.0.0.1:4920 ESTABLISHED 11188
TCP 127.0.0.1:12025 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2212
TCP 127.0.0.1:12110 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12119 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:12143 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2148
TCP 127.0.0.1:27015 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 5972
TCP 127.0.0.1:27015 127.0.0.1:2071 ESTABLISHED 5972
TCP 192.168.1.9:139 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP 192.168.1.9:2861 205.188.74.103:5190 ESTABLISHED 3696
TCP 192.168.1.9:2862 216.155.193.150:5050 FIN_WAIT_1 10212
TCP 192.168.1.9:2872 68.142.233.167:443 FIN_WAIT_1 10212
TCP 192.168.1.9:2881 205.188.8.196:443 ESTABLISHED 3300
TCP 192.168.1.9:2943 207.46.109.18:1863 ESTABLISHED 2972
TCP 192.168.1.9:3765 38.96.182.20:80 ESTABLISHED 11188
TCP 192.168.1.100:139 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
UDP 0.0.0.0:445 *:* 4
UDP 0.0.0.0:1025 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1026 *:* 1996
UDP 0.0.0.0:1036 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1037 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1038 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1040 *:* 2972
UDP 0.0.0.0:1046 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:1047 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:3776 *:* 1060
UDP 0.0.0.0:4070 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:4936 *:* 1296
UDP 0.0.0.0:9370 *:* 1024
UDP 0.0.0.0:9371 *:* 3336
UDP 127.0.0.1:123 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1045 *:* 2580
UDP 127.0.0.1:1406 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1431 *:* 1108
UDP 127.0.0.1:1657 *:* 2972
UDP 127.0.0.1:1673 *:* 3696
UDP 127.0.0.1:1765 *:* 3300
UDP 127.0.0.1:1900 *:* 500
UDP 127.0.0.1:1957 *:* 10212
UDP 127.0.0.1:2149 *:* 10188
UDP 192.168.1.9:9 *:* 2972
UDP 192.168.1.9:123 *:* 1108
UDP 192.168.1.9:137 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.9:138 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.9:1900 *:* 500
UDP 192.168.1.9:5353 *:* 1996
UDP 192.168.1.9:6021 *:* 2972
UDP 192.168.1.9:13546 *:* 2972
UDP 192.168.1.100:123 *:* 1108
UDP 192.168.1.100:137 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.100:138 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.100:1900 *:* 500
UDP 192.168.1.100:5353 *:* 1996
UDP 192.168.1.100:15970 *:* 2972
UDP 192.168.1.100:53965 *:* 2972
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

I see three established connections on the wireless NIC when both are connected. One of them is to AOL. That tells me that the connection is routing out to the net. It could be that it's just the browser that's not working at that point. What browser are you using? Is it AOL, IE or Firefox. Whatever you're using try another one. Also, open a command prompt and ping google.com and ping 205.188.8.196
Make a note of the responses.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

ok this is what i get


C:\*******\******>ping google.com
Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
.

C:\*****\**********\ping 205.188.8.196

Pinging 205.188.8.196 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 205.188.8.196: bytes=32 time=863ms TTL=108
Reply from 205.188.8.196: bytes=32 time=126ms TTL=108
Reply from 205.188.8.196: bytes=32 time=159ms TTL=108
Reply from 205.188.8.196: bytes=32 time=223ms TTL=108

Ping statistics for 205.188.8.196:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 126ms, Maximum = 863ms, Average = 342ms
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok, so now we are looking at a DNS problem. In other words, if you put that IP address in the browser, chances are that the web page would load.
What I would try is change your LAN IP to a static address and put in the DNS entry manually.
Try the DNS of your friends ISP. That might solve the problem.

If that doesn't work the route add command might help.
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6809
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

You could also try these DNS servers

4.2.2.1
4.2.2.2
4.2.2.3
4.2.2.4
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

well my lan has a manual config ip and it still dont work and as far as the ip for the dns what connection does that go for?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

The DNS is what resolves domain names to IP addresses and in reverse as well. If your LAN has a static IP, then what is in the DNS entry? Something tells me that there isn't anything there.
Right click on LAN, go to properties, highlight TCP/IP, click properties and tell me what's there.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

ok my wireless thing is
DHCP config
ip - 192.168.1.9
subnet - 255.255.255.0
dhcp - 192.168.1.1
dns - 207.70.172.240
207.70.128.240


MY wired is
manual config
b]ip [/b]- 192.168.1.100
subnet - 255.255.255.128
dhcp - 192.168.1.2
dns - 192.168.1.2
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6809
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

demonmaestro wrote:
ok my wireless thing is
DHCP config
ip - 192.168.1.9
subnet - 255.255.255.0
dhcp - 192.168.1.1
dns - 207.70.172.240
207.70.128.240


MY wired is
manual config
b]ip [/b]- 192.168.1.100
subnet - 255.255.255.128
dhcp - 192.168.1.2
dns - 192.168.1.2


I'm going to go out on a limb and say that your listing of dhcp is actually your default gateway. 192.168.1.1 is the IP address of the router. The default gateway on both machines should point to that IP address. I would also change your DNS settings to match that of your wireless connection.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

still did not work...
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6809
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

The subnets need to be the same as well.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

the thing is tho is my wireless connection is from a friend and my wired connecting is through my router,,,
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6809
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Where is this wireless coming from? A wireless router your friend has?
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

that is correct


this is how its set up..

The blue is wired and the black is wireless
Image
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6809
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks for the picture, that makes a more sense. In this configuration, are you hoping the server will have internet access as well?
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

no. I just want it where i can access my server as well as have internet on my computer..
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6809
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

So basically we are talking about dual homing your XP machine. This shouldn't be too much of a problem. But by the description of your problem it seems that when you have both connected (wired and wireless) you cannot connect to the internet but can still access your server. This leads me to believe that the wired connection assumes control and routes your internet traffic to your router which will cause your problem.

I have no idea if this will work or not so bear with me. You will kind of need to turn your XP box into a router. To do this perform the following.

1. Click on Start
2. Click on Run
3. Type in regedit and press enter
4. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters
5. In the right pane double click on IPEnableRouter and change its value to 1

See if that helps at all.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

Is rebooting nessory?
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6809
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

It wouldn't hurt
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

In your post on July 9th at 5:43 PM, you said that your LAN has a manual config IP address (static). Then why are 2 DHCP servers running? That's the first problem. Also, you have DNS running on your LAN that can't route out to the net. That's the second problem.
Possible workaround: Put wireless adapters in your server and workstation and eliminate your router. Let it get IPs from your friends wireless router and be done with it. Then everything can connect to the net.
BTW, why isn't the subnet mask on the wired side 255.255.255.0?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 61 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.