Backing up website

• axus
  • Born
  • Born
  • axus

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello Everyone.
I am a novice with a problem (haven't we all). I have a website which is hosted by Webscribble. In August their server crashed losing everything. The site has been re-installed but I need to make my own backup in case their server crashes again or if I want to change server companies.
Can anyone tell me how I can download the site to save to a CD in a format that can be uploaded please
Thanks
Keith.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Nem
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Nem
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Would you be able to tell me the control panel you use with your host?

Also if its all non-database content just copy and paste all files on to CD. But if it were emails, databases etc... then control panel information is required before i can answer the question.

Thanks
  • musik
  • Legend
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: up a tree

Post 3+ Months Ago

Keith, how are you currently uploading your data to your website?

Another way to backup your website (besides through your ocntrol panel) is through your FTP program, there are great free ones like SmartFTP which you can connect to your hosting and backup your files by right clicking and selecting
Download > Direct > Select Folder

You can save it then onto a file on your computer.
  • Cold Canuck
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Michigan, U.S. of eh

Post 3+ Months Ago

axus wrote:
...In August their server crashed losing everything.
In my opinion, any web hosting company that does not run regular backups of it's clients sites, doesn't get my business.

While I do agree that the client should automaticaly make their own backups, for a host NOT to, is totally unacceptable.
  • Mall23
  • Beginner
  • Beginner

Post 3+ Months Ago