Blacklist Status

  • BillW
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Mar 04, 2005
  • Posts: 39
  • Loc: Redondo Beach, Ca.
  • Status: Offline

Post June 22nd, 2005, 7:23 pm

I recently purchased a name from BuyDomains (I know...).
Whois.sc shows a blacklist status for this name and gives a link to Sorbs.net but their site is down.

I might have foregone the whole deal but the name was very relevant to what I need it for.

Can anyone shed more light on the Sorbs blacklist and what, if anything, it means to me and how I can go about getting it delisted?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post June 22nd, 2005, 7:23 pm

  • Uncensored-Hosting
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Sep 26, 2004
  • Posts: 383
  • Loc: Los Angeles
  • Status: Offline

Post June 23rd, 2005, 10:21 am

Their site is up try again ... http://www.au.sorbs.net/overview.shtml
MONEY BACK GUARANTEE! • Ddos, DOS, Brute force, Password Trading & Proxy attack defense. • No price increase EVER!
sales@uncensored-hosting.com Uncensored-Hosting
  • placid psychosis
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jun 08, 2005
  • Posts: 284
  • Loc: Warsaw, IN
  • Status: Offline

Post June 23rd, 2005, 11:09 am

Sorbs blacklists IP ranges, I think. As such, it would be your host that got blacklisted. If the domain is parked, pointing it to it's new home should work. Or did you buy a "premium name" from them?
  • justbane
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Jun 25, 2005
  • Posts: 43
  • Loc: CA
  • Status: Offline

Post July 4th, 2005, 12:56 pm

SORBS blocks specific IPs or RANGES if they are close together. it really only effects emails mostly. The biggest thing about sorbs is they sell their blacklist to ISPs who then use it to block emails and the like from that address.

here is the real kicker... some of these SORBS companies actually charge you a fee to get delisted... its blackmail. anyone can submit you and it will cost you to get delisted. once you are on the list of corse.
  • Tristan_Merz
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jul 20, 2004
  • Posts: 26
  • Loc: Capital Region [TechValley] NY, USA
  • Status: Offline

Post July 12th, 2005, 7:33 am

:turn-l: Who are the 'people' that are, it seems to me, missing from this picture? Are there any watch dog orgs, bureaus, agencies, or ______ of any size, official-dumb rating, or description that are theoretically, at least, responsible for this kind of blatant strident grotesque perfidy? Some of the .gov people making $80 - 150K/yr need to switch off the Nick - at - Night reruns and show up at the office occasionally.
  • jmweb
  • Student
  • Student
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Jun 09, 2005
  • Posts: 71
  • Loc: 127.0.0.1
  • Status: Offline

Post July 12th, 2005, 2:02 pm

justbane wrote:
here is the real kicker... some of these SORBS companies actually charge you a fee to get delisted... its blackmail. anyone can submit you and it will cost you to get delisted. once you are on the list of corse.

And then they put the money to a charity.
  • johne417
  • Born
  • Born
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 15, 2006
  • Posts: 1
  • Status: Offline

Post February 15th, 2006, 1:43 pm

Know what their "charity" is?

A fellow spam blacklist operator who refused to reopen a legit email address, dragging a legit business down, and is getting sued for it. Sorbs charity is legal defense for these sorts of things.

I totally appreciate the idea behind these sorts of things, but sorbs in particular is terrible about responding to emails from legit businesses and working to keep their lists up to date. I've been battling with them for a week and a half, and just keep getting ignored.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 7 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 2011 Unmelted, LLC. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.