my first domain name registration

• manuleka
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: NZ, Wellington

Post 3+ Months Ago

hi all,

i'm quite new to this domain name thing
just about to get a domain name, i'm thinking of just getting a domain (without hosting or anyother)

any great domain registrars? i'm in new zealand and registrars here are quite expensive compared to buying from overseas. I heard go daddy is pretty good...

after i register, do i have to get it hosted immediately? would i lost it if i won't put my domain name with some web-firm to hold ot for me? is there extra costs for this?

any recommendations? thanks
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Once you buy a domain name it's yours for the time span you purchase it for 1 yr, 2 yr, etc... What you do with it is up to you. You can let the name set idle for as long as you want, but what's the point? If you own it, find a way to use it. I think most here will confirm that godaddy is a reasonable place to purchase a name.
  • manuleka
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

thanks ATNO/TW

so when idle i don't have to worry about it? whats with the domain parking? came across it when searching on domains
  • etechsupport
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

The Domain parking is a process where you can register a domain and need not to enter the domain name servers of your hosting company.
The domain registrar will park your domain by default on their server, this means that if you type your domain name into a web browser you will arrive at a default page provided by the registrar.
  • thecodman
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: CT, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I would agree GoDaddy is a good domain registrar. Another one that I've always used and have always been pleased with is namecheap: http://www.namecheap.com
  • etechsupport
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago