FTP Question

• Bogey
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Bogey
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't know where to post this so I'm posting it here... a mod could move it to it's appropriate resting spot :)

I've never used FTP before and at the host I have right now (webfaction.com) I can create a SSH/sftp user (Whatever the . it is). Is sftp a "Secure File Transfer Protocol"?

Like I said before, I haven't ever used FTP so I don't know how to use it... any tutorials? I understand I would probably need an add-on for such thing... any great add-ons? For maybe like Firefox or something?

Thanks for all the help :)
  • casablanca
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

Wikipedia says SFTP = SSH File Transfer Protocol, which pretty much means "secure" FTP.

Using FTP is really simple, just get an FTP client and then it'll be self-explanatory. I'd recommend FileZilla.

PS: Why does every other open-source software's name end as "zilla"? Mozilla, FileZilla, Bugzilla... :?
  • Bogey
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Bogey

Post 3+ Months Ago

casablanca wrote:
PS: Why does every other open-source software's name end as "zilla"? Mozilla, FileZilla, Bugzilla... :?
:lol: Never thought about that... good point

Thanks for the reply... appreciated :) Thanks again
  • Bogey
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Bogey

Post 3+ Months Ago

Alright, got FileZilla, up/downloaded it, installed it, set it up to 127.0.0.1 with administration password... I still don't get what to do... any more help? *lol, don't mean to be a pain in the bu*t
  • casablanca
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

127.0.0.1? You should connect to your web host's FTP server.
  • Bogey
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Bogey

Post 3+ Months Ago

casablanca wrote:
127.0.0.1? You should connect to your web host's FTP server.

Yeah, just did that and it said that it couldn't connect to server... tried again in 5 seconds and still the same show...