How good/bad is Network Solutions as a host?

• JL
  • JL

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi!

I've been hosting my own web sites (five) for the past seven years but now feel that hosting services are sufficiently cheap and fully-featured that I would sooner offload everything.

Network Solutions appear provide all that I need for a reasonable cost (much cheaper than I've been paying my ISP these past years!) and they offer up to 50 'Point External Domains' so I'm summizing that I can write a servlet that will use the URL in HTTP requests to determine the desired domain name and return corresponding content, i.e. it will look like I have separate web sites but they will all be hosted at the same IP address. Obviously, there's still an overall download limit!

Also, the e-commerce package provides a shared SSL certificate so that's another cost saving.

I have always used NetSol as my domain name registrar and they have a good deal of money so I am guessing that their service should be second to none. I don't know this for sure though and I have never spoken to anyone who has used NetSol as a host.

I would be most grateful if anyone could provide personal experiences with NetSol, good, bad or indifferent.

Thanks,

JL
  • Uncensored-Hosting
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well I moved all but one of my domains from them as they are too expensive. There simply is not any justification in paying 2-3x more for accredited registrar services. I also think you should consider Semi-Dedicated/Reseller plans which allow you to host unlimited domains in your allocated space and bandwidth. In case you are wondering the one domain I did leave there was renewed for 10yrs to mitigate cost and furthers my belief in not keeping all my marbles in one basket.
  • CartikaHosting
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • CartikaHosting
  • Loc: Wishing I was in Kicking Horse

Post 3+ Months Ago