How to set up an Apache server on my own machine?

• Raith Rapture
  • Raith Rapture

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi all and thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

I'm new to web hosting but not web design, etc, and could use a bit of help. I am currently building a server on my own and have a computer set up to be a server for a small project. I've done my research and am using Apache 2.2.x on Windows XP SP3 and already own a domain name.

I'm following the instructions on the Apache website for installing on Windows but I don't know what to enter for my server name. As I said, I do own a domain name already, however I have a dynamic IP address through my ISP but have set the computer I'm using as a server to static and assigned it an address through the proper sub-domains of my router. I don't have a DNS set yet either.

If anyone can give me a run-down as to how to set up an Apache server on my own machine and how to host the website on it, I would greatly appreciate it. Any sources or resources are greatly appreciated as well.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

I assume you don't plan to tell your ISP that you want to run a web server nor do you plan to pay for a static IP address.

Based on those assumptions & the assumption that they won't see the traffic, you have to use dyndns or something similar.
  • Raith Rapture
  • Raith Rapture

Post 3+ Months Ago

I do intend to eventually move to a business grade ISP and get a static IP address, but not until I establish the site and have it running.

Either way, what do I use as a server name for installing apache if I'm hosting from my own machine?
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago