• No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am not sure if this will help. I simply copied and pasted the text below. I am not sure if there is an easier way by just editing the sendmail.cf file. If there is an easier way that you find, please let us know, I would be very interested! Thanks.

Here is where I found this answer:
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Network ... 72156.html

Make sure before you proceed, make backup of your sendmail binaries (/usr/sbin/sendmail, and your sendmail.cf I think the best way to do is just make a backup of all your etc directory

tar -cvf etc.tar /etc/

(just in case this get screwed :)

1. get the sendmail source. You can download one from ftp.redhat.com or it should be available on RH SRPMS CD.

At this stage you need to get install the sendmail source tree somewhere. Unfortunately, I'm not very good with rpm, so what I did is;

2. do a "rpm --recompile sendmail-8.11.6-15.rpm"
and during the compilation proces, press ctrl-C to interrupt the process. If you let the process continue, the whole sendmail source tree would be removed. So be quick.

3. go to /usr/src/redhat/SPECS and copy the file sendmail.spec to your working directory (let say /tmp)

4 edit the file sendmail.spec and comment out (buy placing #, wherever you see "rm -rf {$BUILDROOT}" line.

5 go back to your working directory (/tmp), and do
rpm -bp sendmil.spec

This would do any necessary patching to the sendmail.

6 go to /usr/src/redhat/BUILD/sendmail-8.11.6/sendmail

7 Edit the file conf.c and search for #ifdef EXAMPLE_CODE
insert a line before it, and add
-- from logall.c
*>>old if (tTd(49, 1))
*>>old printf("checkcompat(to=%s, from=%s)\n",
*>>old to->q_paddr, e->e_from.q_paddr);
*>>old
*>>new #include "/root/adm/mail/sendmail/logall.c"
*>>old
*>>old # ifdef EXAMPLE_CODE

go to parent directory - /usr/src/redhat/BUILD/sendmail-8.11.6

and issue a make,