looking to host my own website or buy from host provider

• mtg131g
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • mtg131g

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am a high school teacher that loves to use technology in the classroom.
I have built a webpage for my class but dont want it to go through the school due to the avaialbity to update the site takes too long and too much red tape. I just took a graduate class for computer structures and my professor suggested that I make my own hosting server. I am looking to set one up but dont know where to begin. In the meantime I dont mind buying from a host provider. I have already looked into hosts and found what I was looking for. I wanted to know what directions I could take when building my own web server.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Nem
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Nem
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
I am looking to set one up but dont know where to begin. In the meantime I dont mind buying from a host provider.

- Research for one, maybe i could help.

Quote:
I have already looked into hosts and found what I was looking for. I wanted to know what directions I could take when building my own web server.

- Lots and lots of research. Do you have the facilities? (e.g. backup systems?) Why not just order a server? Save yourself alot of time especially if it's a managed server.
  • mtg131g
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • mtg131g

Post 3+ Months Ago

I will be the one managing the system if I were to place it on the web. Right now I know enough to get myself into alot of trouble and that is about it. that is why I was looking in where to start the research on like what type of OS to run on it like windows or linixs. In the meantime while I am getting my site up and running I just buy one for now until I have one built.

as for the server I dont have that much funds just enough for a decent host provider.
  • Nem
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Nem

Post 3+ Months Ago

For a few $s or £s you could have web hosting.