Moving on up! I think.

• UVBoy
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: London, Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

I own and operate a web-based business. I'm not a programmer or a particularly tech savvy individual so I have been using the services of a, well, I'm not sure what to call it --> I pay a guy to host my website on his server and he gives me an interface to make running changes to my site without having to know anything about HTML. It's been good to get me off the ground but now I'm finding it extremely limiting.

I will soon be bringing a partner in on the business who is a programmer but we need a little help on the hardware side of things. I have found a server co-location company in my town that will give me 5U for $250/month. As they have told me - "you have to know what to do with raw internet".

I think we do, but I need some recommendations on what kind of server, firewall, and switch we should go with. And/or if somebody can direct me to a resource for hardware related questions for newbies it would also be appreciated.

Thanks.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• InfluxHost

Post 3+ Months Ago

The kind of server all depends on the size of your website. You could probably buy a Dual Xeon machine for cheap nowadays which would run your website very well.

Since you have 5U of space, I would go for a desktop sized machine. You can probably find a good deal on eBay.

Greg
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

First of all, why are you considering a co-location?

You're co-location is going to charge you double what my local broadband ISP charges for a business account with a static IP and what some would call "unlimited" bandwidth.