Multiple Websites on the same IP address

  • Roisen
  • Born
  • Born
  • Roisen
  • Posts: 3

Post 3+ Months Ago

I already have one website running on my personal internet connection, but I would like to set up another. How could I do this?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Bogey
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Bogey
  • Posts: 8388
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Are you using Apache 2?

If you are, check http://www.netahoy.org/tutorials/apache2.htm. It gives you step by step tutorial.
  • Roisen
  • Born
  • Born
  • Roisen
  • Posts: 3

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
THIS IS A 404!

Well /tutorials/apache2.htm. does not exist. Sorry Could be the link http://www.ozzu.com/sutra413808.html u used was wrong
BTW you it seems are on Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.3) Gecko/20070309 Firefox/2.0.0.3 from 65.103.85.232


-netahoy.org


wrong link is wrooong. it's those darn pasky periods that slip into the link sometimes :P Watch for those! :D

The article says I need windows 9.x or 2000. I have server 2003. Any problems with this? Also, the article was writtin in 2002. Any newer versions covering newer versions of apache?
  • Roisen
  • Born
  • Born
  • Roisen
  • Posts: 3

Post 3+ Months Ago

Alright, after gathering everything I could from your article, and doing some research of my own, I have a few questions.

when inserting:
Code: [ Select ]
  NameVirtualHost *

  <VirtualHost *>
  ServerName www.domain.tld
  DocumentRoot /www/domain
  </VirtualHost>

  <VirtualHost *>
  ServerName www.otherdomain.tld
  DocumentRoot /www/otherdomain
  </VirtualHost>
  1.   NameVirtualHost *
  2.   <VirtualHost *>
  3.   ServerName www.domain.tld
  4.   DocumentRoot /www/domain
  5.   </VirtualHost>
  6.   <VirtualHost *>
  7.   ServerName www.otherdomain.tld
  8.   DocumentRoot /www/otherdomain
  9.   </VirtualHost>


, does it matter where I put it? Accoring to http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/vhosts/name-based.html, I "simply need to add it", so I appended it.

Also, does the document root variable have to be relative to the apache install? Would something like "C:\something\here it is.html" work as well?

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 4 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.