need some basic hosting advice

• new_filmaker_1980
  • Born
  • Born
  • new_filmaker_1980

Post 3+ Months Ago

as you may of guessed from my name i am a low budget filmmaker, i've recently lost my job and decided that was a sign to start concentrating on my career.

The reason I am here is this; I want to create a website to showcase my documentaries and fiction films but i also want to make money from it via affiliates and such.

the site will also include reviews of films, music and video games.

I really after some advice on building it.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Blackwood
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Blackwood

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do not be tempted to go with free hosting. Trust me, i am a doctor. :)
  • Daemonguy
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

Honestly, if money is tight and your skilset is even tighter you may want to consider something like Weebly. (http://www.weebly.com/)

You get a domain name from GoDaddy... and the site is free with no advertising. They have automated templates which you can also customize once you become more familiar. The only thing is Weebly does not offer email, so you will either have to use a web based email like Gmail or alternatively you can purchase that for like $2 a month from GoDaddy.

Now before the hate mail comes in, let me state that I am not one for free hosting. You are limited in the extreme with that sort of thing; both in transfer rates, and there's no guarantee for availability either. Not exactly conducive to business... however I also know what is is like to be in business.