Newbie Question

• kaos131
  • Born
  • Born
  • kaos131

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello All,

I am a very novice web designer (built only 5 basic sites).

I am currently looking for a web hosting company and I believe I found one that fits my budget.

The only wrinkle is that they use a Linux operatiing System.

Since all the design apps and tools I use are Windows based, am I able to use their service?

I asked them this and they said that is should not affect my website unless I am using Windows only components.

What does he mean by that?

Any light you can shed on my issue would be greatly appreciated.

I thank you in advance.

Kaos
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• CartikaHosting
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • CartikaHosting
  • Loc: Wishing I was in Kicking Horse

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
Since all the design apps and tools I use are Windows based, am I able to use their service?

Hi Kaos,

Can you elaborate on this?

Are you talking desktop publishing/graphics (like photoshop) types of tools? Or, are you talking about Microsoft development platforms like .NET?
  • TomK
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

You'll need to provide us with more information like Cartika stated.

Exactly what software did you use to create your website?
  • kaos131
  • Born
  • Born
  • kaos131

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thank you both for your replies:

I currently use Macromedia and Adobe Suite of Tools for the PC:

Dreaweaver
Photoshop
Illustrator
some Flash

I want to progrees into development as I teach myself.

Do you think this poses a problem to use this host?

Thanks again
  • Daemonguy
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

kaos131 wrote:
Thank you both for your replies:

I currently use Macromedia and Adobe Suite of Tools for the PC:

Dreaweaver
Photoshop
Illustrator
some Flash

I want to progrees into development as I teach myself.