Seeking Ottawa Webmaster to teach me how to get my site up.

• ErinHeather
  • Born
  • Born
  • ErinHeather

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi everyone,
Hopefully I have put this post in the right place.
I am an Ottawa based makeup artist. I have a site on tripod.com, but I want a more customizable, professional site with no pop-up ads, etc, so I bought erinheather.com and paid to have it hosted.

Only one problem....its way more complicated than I thought it would be. I know some basic html, and can design my own stuff, but I need someone to provide me with a tutorial on how to....um....actually make text and graphics appear on the www. Also important would be how to make my site show up on search engines, how to use my @erinheather.com email accounts, how to create a photogallery similiar to this: http://www.lotstar.com/portfolio.html and any other things that you I need to know, but don't yet actually know that I need to know.

If there is anyone in Ottawa who would be interested in teaching me, I would be eternally grateful, as I really need my site up and running, as an advertising tool for myself.

To compensate you, I can either pay you by the hour, or I can trade services with you. For instance, I can give you gift certificates for a makeup lesson and application that you can use for yourself, or give to family or friends.

Anyhoo, hopefully someone will bite, as I am totally lost!
Thanks,
Erin
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• CartikaHosting
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • CartikaHosting
  • Loc: Wishing I was in Kicking Horse

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi Erin,

May I suggest you take a look at a content management solution for your requirements. Meaning, you do not need to know html, etc - to get content published.

As for your email addesses - your host should be able to provide you assistance with this...
  • musik
  • Legend
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: up a tree

Post 3+ Months Ago