Whats up guys.. New to the forum

• phatgalaxy
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • phatgalaxy

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hey guys. I am currently in the process of starting a website/business with my buddy. (under construction).. Anyways we have purchased our domain and hosting but I have a few ?'s. Eventually and hopefully we will outgrow our hosting plan and want a ded server. I have done so much homework on this and I still need a few answers.. Say If i transfer my domain to lets say network solutions or register.com. Do you they offer free DNS servers? I am very new to DNS but I have learned quite a bit. By this summer I plan on building a server on a static IP that I already have. How would I make this happen if they supply free DNS servers. Just simple modify their records to my IP.. Which records would need to be changed to MY IP.. Just web server and FTP? Is running your own server/domain from home difficult. I have done so much research and I still feel a little stupid lol-- Thanks guys :lol:
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Your post is a little confusing, but maybe this answer will help. I use Netsol at work. There is no "extra" charge for the DNS servers. I have found them a little complicated to use at times, but not much worse than others. To clarify that, they made one change once in their DNS servers that caused me a two day downtime, because I wan't aware they made the change and I caused the problem by trying to change something in DNS, but now they host the servers themselves so there should be no more issues. Basically our webserver is inhouse. Our Domain registrar is Netsol and we use their DNS servers to resolve to our static IP for our server.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator

Post 3+ Months Ago

In regards to this question:

Quote:
Is running your own server/domain from home difficult