automating software installations

• kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Trout Creek, MT

Post 3+ Months Ago

I work in a school, and this year I got a butt load of cash to buy new computers with. So I've ordered about 65 computers (maybe more soon) and so far I've gotten about 27 of them. I have a list of software that gets installed on each computer, so I downloaded them and burned them to a cd. Then I made a few copies of the cd and I am doing a couple of computers simultaneously.

My question is...how do I write an autorun type of thing to start each of the installers, and then can I use some sort of an answer file type of thing to automatically choose each of the options I want during the setup and configuration. As I am doing it right now, I have three computers running and I just go from one to the next to the next clicking the same button on each. What I am envisioning is having about 10 computers running, I stick the cd in and it goes on its own, then reboots when it is finished, all without me lifting a finger. Having it this way would really save a lot of time.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 8858(WS.10).aspx

It can be done with group policy & active directory.
  • kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm not running active directory though. I kind of wish I was, but when I got these funds I decided that the most of my servers are good enough for now and my crappy old pentium 3's and windows ME's and 2000s were needing replaced pdq. All my servers are linux servers as well and I like that, it beats buying server 2008.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago