cannot copy file

  • ultimate11
  • Student
  • Student
  • ultimate11
  • Posts: 86

Post 3+ Months Ago

cannot copy file either disk is full or right protected...how can i copy if their is error?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

What kind of drive is it? Are you logged in as administrator?
  • ultimate11
  • Student
  • Student
  • ultimate11
  • Posts: 86

Post 3+ Months Ago

yes.i can copy anywhere and paste anywhere except in my drive c i only have 2 partition drive c and d..
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

How big is the drive & how much free space is there?
  • ultimate11
  • Student
  • Student
  • ultimate11
  • Posts: 86

Post 3+ Months Ago

80GB each..the free space is 25GB
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

There shouldn't be a problem with that much space. Exactly from where to where are you trying to copy the file? By that I mean, full paths. Try to copy a file to the root directory on C:, not to a folder on C:
  • ultimate11
  • Student
  • Student
  • ultimate11
  • Posts: 86

Post 3+ Months Ago

from my flash drive which is my page to c:\wamp\www and vice versa...i wonder why co'z when i copy my page from flash drive to other computer i don't have any problem.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Try to copy a file from the flash drive just to C:\
Does that work?
  • ultimate11
  • Student
  • Student
  • ultimate11
  • Posts: 86

Post 3+ Months Ago

no..same error..
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Open a command prompt & run the following commands. Press enter after each line. Follow my spacing.

c:
cacls /T /P administrator:F

If you aren't using the administrator account, replace administrator with the current user when you run the command.
  • Zealous
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1244
  • Loc: Sydney

Post 3+ Months Ago

windows does not like anything in C: it wants your files in my documents where it should be, if you need it in root mkdir then put it in there.

only way around it. windows 7 has a lot more security then XP
  • spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6252
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Zealous wrote:
windows does not like anything in C: it wants your files in my documents where it should be, if you need it in root mkdir then put it in there.

only way around it. windows 7 has a lot more security then XP

This has nothing to do with the problem the OP is experiencing, and is also wrong.
  • ultimate11
  • Student
  • Student
  • ultimate11
  • Posts: 86

Post 3+ Months Ago

Don2007 wrote:
Open a command prompt & run the following commands. Press enter after each line. Follow my spacing.

c:
cacls /T /P administrator:F

If you aren't using the administrator account, replace administrator with the current user when you run the command.

nothing happened..
  • ultimate11
  • Student
  • Student
  • ultimate11
  • Posts: 86

Post 3+ Months Ago

Zealous wrote:
windows does not like anything in C: it wants your files in my documents where it should be, if you need it in root mkdir then put it in there.

only way around it. windows 7 has a lot more security then XP

i need it to run in root for my page.and i cannot copy also the page from root...

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 14 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.