Change Windows 98 to Windows 98se

• allycat
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • allycat

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello all, at my great age I'm very new to computers so I need all the help I can get.

If someone can tell me please a hassle free way of reloading an operating system, I have just bought a used computer from a boot fair for my grandson to use…. it’s in a bit of a mess full hard drive and full memory etc with all the games loaded on it, the Windows 98 CD that came with it is all scratched and I don’t think it will load…I did get a start up disc with it …

I have Windows 98 se on my machine so can I clean the hard drive of the one I bought and start from scratch by loading it with my Windows 98se…will there be any problems with it, will it work ok or will I cause any problems by doing this.

Thankyou, any help will be appreciated.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

The biggest problem you will face is having the drivers for all the hardware devices such as the Chipset for the motherboard, the graphics drivers, sound drivers, perhaps modem and network card drivers etc. Spend some time looking at the hardware devices and make sure you have the latest drivers available to reinstall after the operating system is installed. This can be particularly frustrating if you don't plan it out ahead of time, particularly when you need to access the internet to get updated drivers etc and you can't because your modem or network card isn't working yet.
  • allycat
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • allycat

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thankyou, how do I find out what drivers I need, I assume once I know this I can go to the websites and download them.

Sorry but I haven't done this before, I spend most of the time on the computer useing the Microsoft Office programmes.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator

Post 3+ Months Ago