Cheap Software

  • Tone2k11
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Mar 14, 2004
  • Posts: 494
  • Loc: Southampton - UK
  • Status: Offline

Post April 19th, 2004, 10:07 am

Hi,

Someone i know sent me this link, it sounds to good to be true and that (9/10) means that it is. However it seems legit

The URL is Here

What y'all think?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post April 19th, 2004, 10:07 am

  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Joined: May 28, 2003
  • Posts: 23404
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA
  • Status: Offline

Post April 19th, 2004, 10:31 am

Well, if you do buy something from them, you are buying it from some guy in the Russian Federation. The site is not registered to a company, but a private individual.

You do the math.
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 except for ::1."
Alexandria Networks. Leader in IT consulting for associations/non-profits, and small to medium sized businesses around the northern Virginia and Washington D.C. metro area.
  • BlueHat
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Feb 29, 2004
  • Posts: 589
  • Loc: Cyprus
  • Status: Offline

Post April 19th, 2004, 12:55 pm

U should think about twice
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jan 07, 2004
  • Posts: 5744
  • Loc: Sub-level 28
  • Status: Offline

Post April 19th, 2004, 1:01 pm

Yeah, the domain was only registered 9 days ago..

Chances are your friend "found" it through a spam he got (or you got spammed and your friend's E-Mail address was faked)...

3DX Max for a $6250 discount?

Sounds like either warez, or con-man to me - send the money, never receive a thing.

He's in Russia, what can you do to him? Nothing, and he knows it.
  • ShEDeViL
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Mar 29, 2004
  • Posts: 216
  • Status: Offline

Post April 19th, 2004, 8:41 pm

Axe wrote:
Yeah, the domain was only registered 9 days ago..
How do you check to see when the domain was registered?
  • Ragnar78
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 12, 2004
  • Posts: 279
  • Status: Offline

Post April 19th, 2004, 11:39 pm

you can search in google for a whois site, insert the domain name and you get info concerning the Domain...

Actually now the domains have to become more specific because of Ecommerce being involved.
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Feb 11, 2004
  • Posts: 6741
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV
  • Status: Offline

Post April 20th, 2004, 2:04 am

These people have been around for a while. I know them as cdcheap.com and some of my friends know them as something else. I was going to buy from them but decided to make a post at a forum about them much like this. The bottom line is, don't do it.
‎"Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everybody you meet." Maj. Gen. James Mattis
  • Tone2k11
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Mar 14, 2004
  • Posts: 494
  • Loc: Southampton - UK
  • Status: Offline

Post April 20th, 2004, 3:42 am

Thanks you all for your advise. I think that it is now safe to say that if something seems to be to good to be true then it is!

Cheers
Tone
  • BlueHat
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Feb 29, 2004
  • Posts: 589
  • Loc: Cyprus
  • Status: Offline

Post April 20th, 2004, 6:17 am

hehe.. good shot..

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 9 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 144 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 2011 Unmelted, LLC. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.