Creating a Ghost Image for Windows XP or the like

  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 9185
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello, I have recently heard that idea that you can create a ghost image which is like a snapshot of your computer and everything you have installed, so that when you ever need to reinstall your computer you can just re-install the ghost image so that you can get up and running fast.

Can anybody point me in the direction on how to do this? Also how is this different from just doing a system restore to a date which is about the time when you re-installed your computer? is it different?
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6367
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

Norton/Symantec makes the software, known as Norton Ghost.

official product link:
http://www.symantec.com/sabu/ghost/ghost_personal/

Basically, "ghosting," (otherwise known as "imaging") is a snapshot of
your system partition (usually c: ) into 1 single file. When you want to run
a restore, you run a backend boot menu and restore from that file.

It's really easy and you can restore your pc in about 15 min usually. The
only catch is, you can only ever use that image on the hardware it was
created from, or obviously it won't work properly because of drivers, etc.

The technique has been used for years, but usually on a corporate level.
This is how large companies push out so many new pc's in a short time,
by "ghosting" them. If they have 100 pc's with exactly same hardware,
they load 1 from scratch and then ghost it, creating all the others from
that same image file. Since all the hardware is the same, it will work
99% of the time (I've seen some not work and have to be redone).

This concept is the same for a personal pc as well.

An example of what you can do with it to save you some time when a
restore is needed:

1. install windows
2. load all your apps and fav programs that you always use
3. then do the ghost image
4. whenever windows acts up from heavey usage or just basic probs,
re-image to get it back to the way it was a lot faster than a full re-install.

It's very slick and saves you so much time. It takes me approx 6hrs to
finalize a fresh install - 15 min with Ghost. :D
  • Borrow -A- Geek
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 744
  • Loc: Dallas/Ft Worth, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok i get what you said but whats the difference between Ghosting, and a full system back up. also if it isnt a full system back up where does the missing data come from? alittle bit confused on that area.. how you can go from a blank hard drive to fully loaded computer from just a ghost image.. please elaborate..

thanks
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6367
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

it's a snapshot - basically just a copy and paste of your c:. You are
formatting and then copying that image file to a clean hard drive, and
because it is all the same hardware, it will work.

As far as system restore, it serves the purpose of NOT doing a total
re-install from scratch. The image already represents the hard drive's
status you want it to be right after installing everything. You just don't
have to actually do it.

You can ghost your entire hd if you want, and save the image on a
partition for restore. Very easy and makes it convenient.

Make sense?
  • Borrow -A- Geek
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 744
  • Loc: Dallas/Ft Worth, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

yes thanks it does.. i was think in terms of having enough space for a full system backup.. but an image is more or less the bare essentials for restoring your HD.. thanks...
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6367
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

yeah it is, but usually a system restore is for the OS only. A ghost saves
and backsup everything on that drive into 1 file. that file is not
necessarily the same size as the drive though. There's some
compression ran on it to save you that space.

I installed over 100 XP Pro images with about 16 apps loaded at this
company, and the image was less than 1g. :)

If you do it right, you can get it down to less than 1 cd-r. Then you
aren't using any hd space. :wink:
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6367
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

I picked up a copy of Norton Ghost 2003 today, and I'm so glad. It's
even easier to use than before, and the utiilities for compression are
really improved.

I images my current configuration in 19min, dumping 8gigs into a 4.6gig
ghost file out on my network. that's pretty darn good.

I don't plan to reinstall windows ever again from scratch after this next
time. I'm stoked about this, since i can actually use it at home and not
only in the office. :D :D :D
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 9185
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

Very nice, I am giong to have to check it out one of these days :)

I hate reinstalling.
  • Steen
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 343

Post 3+ Months Ago

Very well put UNFLUX.

we use Ghost at work just like you subscribed it.

only we use boot disk to map to the network and pull the file ...

very handy and rapidly sets up any pc in minutes.

we have several images as well in order to accomidate
the securities and applications. for instance depending
on job function for the new user machines, we deploy
images based on setting requirements.
  • Borrow -A- Geek
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 744
  • Loc: Dallas/Ft Worth, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

just got it downloaded i cant wait to try it out.. this may be the answer to my backup needs...
  • dsantamassino12
  • Loser
  • Loser
  • dsantamassino12
  • Posts: 368
  • Loc: Dallas, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I use Norton Ghost myself. That's the only backup program that i have.
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6367
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

Gadget Guru wrote:
just got it downloaded i cant wait to try it out.. this may be the answer to my backup needs...

let us know how it goes. :D
  • dex
  • Born
  • Born
  • dex
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

what if you want to burn the image and its to big for one cd does norton ghost allow you to make multiple files out of one hd image
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6367
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

great question -

you actually will send the image to the cd burner right within the
program's interface. When it gets to the end of disk 1, it will ask you to
put a new one in and continue. When restoring from the image, it will
also ask you for the next disk when it gets to the end of the first.

The image I use at work is actually 5 cd-r's because of all the software
the company uses. Works very well.
  • ModernDestroyer
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 794
  • Loc: California

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ghost is a good program to have, used it a few times. But I used a fresh Install of windows and add the cab files to a directory on C: (C:\win98 for windows 98) Then I ghosted an image and made it a bootable CD rom. Now I can build a complete system with OS and a few small programs, usually in under an hour. After the image is loaded on the hard drive once the computer starts up for the first time it finds all the hardware for the new system. This probably isn't the most correct thing to do, but hey it saves me any were from 2 to 6 hours on waiting for software to load. :D
  • slutsac
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • slutsac
  • Posts: 13

Post 3+ Months Ago

quick question,

I want to make an image but I dont have the full enterprise version of ghost. I only have, I assume a desktop copy. I would like to make the image with out ghost being installed on the machine I am ghosting. How can I do this ?

so I want to make an image on a desktop with out installing ghost on the machine I want to image.

Thanks
  • slutsac
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • slutsac
  • Posts: 13

Post 3+ Months Ago

if I want to ghost a machine but not have the ghost app on the image can I use a floppy? anyone know how I would do this. I heard it could be done but not sure?

Thanks

are they just the ghost boot disks?

Thanks :shock: :roll:
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 5735
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Instal ghost on another machine, take the hard drive out of the box you wanna ghost, and put it in that other machine - I recently ran into a similar problem.

I had to backup 3 PCs in an office network. They didn't want to have to go out & buy 3 copies of Norton Ghost. I already had it on my PC, so I just put the three hard drives inside my own machine one at a time to ghost them to CDs.
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 5735
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Btw, if you go to LAN parties, Norton Ghost is an ESSENTIAL piece of kit.

Before you go, ghost your entire system (sure, it may take a few CDs, but a pack of 50 CDs costs less than the entry fee to most lan parties these days), then it doesn't matter what happens to your system (viruses/trojans/general system screw-ups/etc.)

Once you get home and burn the stuff you actually want to keep, just restore from your ghosts, and your PC acts like it was never there.

I keep three Ghost sets of my PC.

1, CD-R - The basic OS with all the drivers setup, hardware all running sweet, latest version of DirectX, video Codecs & software that I use (Photoshop, Office, etc.) - or at least, the latest version that is out at the time I setup the PC.

2, CD-R - Similar to Set #1, but without the apps, and just the games. When I go to a LAN party, or just hook up with a buddy for some network play, I restore from this set and all my games are installed.

3, CD-RW - This is my current system image. Every coupla weeks or so, I backup the entire system onto CD-RWs, to make sure I've got as fresh an image as realistically possible in case of crash. Pretty much anything else non-replacable that's created within a given 2-week period (graphics, E-Mail, websites, code, etc.) is saved or backed up on a remote box (either over LAN or Internet).
  • hollaback04
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • hollaback04
  • Posts: 55

Post 3+ Months Ago

when i brought my pc it come with windows 98 ghost it only takes 5 mins to reinstall everything
  • hollaback04
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • hollaback04
  • Posts: 55

Post 3+ Months Ago

how to make a ghost backup cd?
  • hollaback04
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • hollaback04
  • Posts: 55

Post 3+ Months Ago

on xp?
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 5735
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

1) Install Norton Ghost
2) Run Norton Ghost
3) Follow the simple on-screen instructions

:)
  • Nanashikun
  • Born
  • Born
  • Nanashikun
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi,
just saw this subject and thought I might just pop my question in here since somebody might know :)
I have a server running with a 200gb HDs and now one died and I got a new one from Maxtor... the problem is it is a 250gb one and I wanted to use ghost to transfer my data BUT it doesn't work..the license or activation prevents the transfered partition to start...is there anything I can do about that or does anyone of you know of a workaround ?
Thanks

Nana
  • Sunburnt Yeti
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 38
  • Loc: Reagan Test Site - Kwajalein Atoll, Rep. Marshall Islands

Post 3+ Months Ago

Anyone need any more help with Ghosting/Imaging using Symantec/Norton Ghost?


I have quite a background in it (hence the reason why I just joined the forum). Let me know if y'all have any questions.


I also noticed that most of the replies in this thread don't mention anything dealing with Sysprep (for 2k or XP). It's essential to use it when imaging your computer.... Well, imaging many computers. You can also use it to make an image capapble of being put on different machines w/ different hardware.

Just fyi. :)
  • SecureITGroup
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 293

Post 3+ Months Ago

Symantec Ghost is a excellent one and Powerquest makes one called Powerquest Drive Image basically does the same as ghost. Even being able to backup to a network drive. This is just another suggestion for a image resource.
  • rgerman
  • Born
  • Born
  • rgerman
  • Posts: 2

Post 3+ Months Ago

I recently backed up a windows xp pro laptop fully loaded to 13 disks to Norton ghost 2003. Then the system crashed and I tried to use the restore cds from cd bootup and it got to disk6 and couldnt continue. i did not copy the error. i tried cleaning the disk and the same thing happened on a second try. I then reinstalled windows but i do not have a copy of Norton ghost 2003 to reinstall. Any suggestions on how to get my system back to original? i hope I have given enough information. I will monitor for any questions.
  • coppins
  • Born
  • Born
  • coppins
  • Posts: 1
  • Loc: Perth Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

hey sunburnt yeti,
i've had probs with ghost. when i try to make a backup image of xp on another hard drive my system freezes after ghost reboots. any ideas?
this used to work on my old celeron with a partitioned 40gb hd.
i am currently running a p4, 1024ddr, 2x120gb hd + 1x40gb which contains xp. all three hds are partitioned.
thanks in anticipation.
  • Sunburnt Yeti
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 38
  • Loc: Reagan Test Site - Kwajalein Atoll, Rep. Marshall Islands

Post 3+ Months Ago

coppins wrote:
i've had probs with ghost. when i try to make a backup image of xp on another hard drive my system freezes after ghost reboots. any ideas?
this used to work on my old celeron with a partitioned 40gb hd.
i am currently running a p4, 1024ddr, 2x120gb hd + 1x40gb which contains xp. all three hds are partitioned.


Easiest way to make backups is backing out of XP and running Ghost through DOS. A lot of the newer versions of Ghost and other imaging utilities say they can run while in windows XP, but I don't put a lot of faith on them.

One of the big problems about running through DOS is that it can normally only see FAT32 partitions only (not NTFS). However, I do believe that a bootdisk from Windows ME will allow you to see a NTFS partiion.

If you're migrating your image from your old celeron to your new system (your P4) you might run into issues if you don't use sysprep to get your image ready for migration.


What exact problems are you having with Ghost?
  • Sunburnt Yeti
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 38
  • Loc: Reagan Test Site - Kwajalein Atoll, Rep. Marshall Islands

Post 3+ Months Ago

SecureITGroup wrote:
Symantec Ghost is a excellent one and Powerquest makes one called Powerquest Drive Image basically does the same as ghost. Even being able to backup to a network drive. This is just another suggestion for a image resource.


Ghost also has the ability to backup an image to a network drive... all you have to do is run off a network boot disk. You can get a good one from Bart's BootDisks which will autodetect your NIC and can do some mapping automatically (though I had to go through and edit the autoexec.net [you'll understand if you use this option] to properly attach to my server here at work).
  • Sunburnt Yeti
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 38
  • Loc: Reagan Test Site - Kwajalein Atoll, Rep. Marshall Islands

Post 3+ Months Ago

rgerman wrote:
I recently backed up a windows xp pro laptop fully loaded to 13 disks to Norton ghost 2003. Then the system crashed and I tried to use the restore cds from cd bootup and it got to disk6 and couldnt continue. i did not copy the error. i tried cleaning the disk and the same thing happened on a second try. I then reinstalled windows but i do not have a copy of Norton ghost 2003 to reinstall. Any suggestions on how to get my system back to original? i hope I have given enough information. I will monitor for any questions.



Did you do an integrity check on the image?
  • Xe|2o
  • Born
  • Born
  • Xe|2o
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

Sunburnt Yeti .. hey I was wondering if u could help me out with it.. I wanna copy my pc witch has xp home, to my other pc (spare for the kids)
could you tell me what to do? Does It matter witch Ghost you use? my e-mail is lowmaintance@hotmail.com Any help would be appreciated!!
  • CYBOPOB
  • Born
  • Born
  • CYBOPOB
  • Posts: 1
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

So, as I understand correctly - to make an image of WinXP and then succesfully apply that image to the system one needs to use SYSPREP to reset SID and then reactivate windows after reapplying the image? Does it mean I still limited to 3 re-install of Windows XP?
  • jmartin417
  • Born
  • Born
  • jmartin417
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

So what is the best way to create and ghost a "master" image of XP that could be used accross different hardware platforms. I don't mind changing the product key on each machine.

Thanks
  • BSRipper
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • BSRipper
  • Posts: 6
  • Loc: Ohio
  • unkko
  • Born
  • Born
  • unkko
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hey Sunburnt Yeti...In Ghost 2003, how can I make a dvd image file that will automatically restore my backup from the main system boot? My sisters E-machine has a restore disk made with ghost that does this...
Thanks :?:
  • stevenm
  • Born
  • Born
  • stevenm
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

Here is yet another Norton Ghost setup question:

I have two WinXP PCs, networked via a hardwired Linksys router. I would like to save an image of the C drive of one machine in a folder on the other. I have them set up on a workgroup, and they see each other just fine. When I run ghost and try to save an image onto the other machine, it tells me I need to enter domain, user name and password info. I set up the second two but the domain thing has me stumped. How do I go about setting this up so Ghost will allow the image to be created?

Thanks much,
Steve
  • Netbizz
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Netbizz
  • Posts: 12

Post 3+ Months Ago

UNFLUX, these are great details. But it is always recommended that you make sure your CD/DVD drive is supported by Norton Ghost.

With a unsupported drive you can run into lot of problems.

This link will give you the details of supported drives by Norton Ghost.

http://service1.symantec.com/support/gh ... 0414141625

But Symantec have not still upgraded their support to Dual layer DVD drives. :o
  • Tball
  • Born
  • Born
  • Tball
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have Ghost 9 Bought in a Package that had Ghost 9 Ghost 2003 and partition magic.
Ghost 9 Is awesome its does incremental back ups as you add to your drive you can set it up that it will automatically back up what you added with out any work from you.
  • Bgnn32
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • Bgnn32
  • Posts: 435
  • Loc: Western Mass

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ghost is a great program, especially in a corporate world where I work they have 3 different types of workstations, and they have a clean image of each, if someone screws up the workstation you walk in with the boot disk and about 20min later is it back up and running with all the special software we use already installed.
  • WW
  • Born
  • Born
  • WW
  • Posts: 3

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have Ghost as part of Systemworks 2003. How can I install just Ghost and not all the other junk on the CD? It does not give a custom install option as most software does during the install. I don't think just copying the Ghost folder over will work, will it?

2) With XP Professional can you clone the entire drive occassionally without running afoul of the MS registration protection scheme?

I have used Ghost on W98 and W-2000 but I am just installing a XP drive/OS. Thank you.
  • javascriptman221
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 350
  • Loc: New Jersey

Post 3+ Months Ago

UNFLUX wrote:
I picked up a copy of Norton Ghost 2003 today, and I'm so glad. It's
even easier to use than before, and the utiilities for compression are
really improved.

I images my current configuration in 19min, dumping 8gigs into a 4.6gig
ghost file out on my network. that's pretty darn good.

I don't plan to reinstall windows ever again from scratch after this next
time. I'm stoked about this, since i can actually use it at home and not
only in the office. :D :D :D


Norton Ghost 9.0 is a big No-No. It's horrible. Norton Ghost 2003 on the other hand, is the best. It has saved my Dad's computer countless times. :D

--Craig
  • Arcath
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 166
  • Loc: New England

Post 3+ Months Ago

Can you elaborate on that comment? What is horrible about Ghost 9.0? If I’m considering getting a more recent copy of ghost (I'm still using Ghost 5) what do you suggest is better about ghost 2003?
  • javascriptman221
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 350
  • Loc: New Jersey

Post 3+ Months Ago

Oh...a lot of things. Ghost 9.0 doesn't have a boot up option, meaning you can't boot up from a floppy to restore a backup. That's one major thing that was taken away in 9.0. Plus, 2003's stability and performance is much more better than 9.0. So I suggest you get 2003, and not 9.0. 2003 is still available. ;)

--Craig
  • bulitka
  • Born
  • Born
  • bulitka
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have tried to clone a Western Digital Caviar 800JB 80GB hardrive "to" a Western Digital Caviar 1200JB 120GB hardrive using Norton Ghost 9.0. However after the disk copy, changing the cables so that the 120GB drive is master, and booting my machine, I am stuck at the opeing Windows XP blue screen. (The screen right before the log-in accounts are shown). I think the problem has nothing to do with the drive types, but rather with Ghost forcing me to choose a drive letter that's different than what's on the drive I want to clone.

Is there an easy fix for this?
Thanks,
-N

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 45 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 1998-2016. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.