Difference between Windows Home Edition and XP Pro?

• sl9799
  • sl9799
  • Loc: houston, tx

Post 3+ Months Ago

Right now, I am just learning how to set up a network in my house but I am using Windows Home Edition on both PCs. All I am trying to do is share files between two PCS (a labtop and a Sony) and even share the printers but its not working correctly. I understand the difference between Windows XP Home and XP Professional is that the Home Edition is limited to workgroup network and unable to join a domain. Could that be my problem?

FYI - Right now, between the two PCS that I have connected to a router they both can access the internet with my current cable modem. I am trying to use the Sony as the server and it is the only computer that connects directly to the internet. The labtop connects to a router- the router connects to the cable modem properly. I've gone through the process of setting both PCs through the Windows wizard but the VAIO takes over 30 minutes and I get an error message at its completion! In the object section of that folder I see a Network Bridge but not sure what that is for? When I go into Network Neighborhood and do a Search Computers - it cannot find the computer name of my labtop. Now, when I go onto my labtop and try to go to Network Neighborhood it does search and find my VAIO computer but says it is not allowed to access the files - and no shared printers. Of course, the Connection Wizard on the labtop didn't crash like my VAIO. And yes - I do have my VAIO's printer file folder as shared.

I've search the websites for an answer to why the computers are not showing together and have spent an hour finding nothing concise on the matter. Please point me in the right direction. One thing as I am typing this out... I do recognize that I have Internet Security 2004 and that may in itself be causing conflicts as well...but any suggestions or good articles to be read will be appreciated! Thanks. Just Learning, Stephen
  • Anonymous