C: drive boots but disappeared from "Computer"

• whatsanike
  • Born
  • Born
  • whatsanike

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am a webmaster, actually, of sorts as I own some domains and a couple of sites, and I found this forum through a google search of the topic my subject line is about.

My C: drive can only be browsed to look at the files by right-clicking "Computer" and "Manage", then manage disks, and see C: listed, right click on C: and click "Open". Then I can access the files.
Nothing I have tried will make it behave the way it used to.
Running Windows Vista. Had 2 SATA hard drives and disconnected the D: drive wondering if that could have been the cause, since the D: drive acted normal and was listed in "Computer", when the C: and D; both were listed there the other day, but now that I have disconnected the D: drive, all I see there is the CD-ROM and empty drive letters down the alphabet from there. In device manager C: is listed as an SCSI drive. Tried installing new drivers but can't find any. Uninstalled C: and restarted the machine and same result all over again.
Posted this plea several days ago in "Hardware" but it seems to have died there.
Could not post my picture in my profile since the website won't browse to the C: root to find my picture.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

Seems like a strange problem. Hopefully you have resolved it by now, but if you haven't please let us know you are still trying to fix it, or if you have resolved it, how you fixed it as it could help someone down the road.

So just to confirm, you are able to access your files, but only via the area where you manage the hard drives, correct? If so that does rule out the possibility that your hard drive is corrupt as it sounds like you can access everything on it, but maybe some sort of configuration problem.