Exchange 2003 problem

  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello everyone, I know this may be a bit late to say; but since is my first post since last year, then HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! Yay!!!... Rofl.. anyways I was wondering if any of you guys could give me a hand sorting out this problem, I’m new to exchange 2003 and I recently install exchange server 2003 on a Windows server 2003, the good thing about is that I can send/receive emails across the network however when it comes to the internet I can only send emails, but cant received any...and I’m thinking that since I’m new to this I may have not configured exchange the right way, I would really appreciate any help given by you guys.
If you guys need any information please let me know

Thank you

Sincerely
Shadow Knight
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do you have to add port 110 to your firewall or maybe there is another setting that's blocking it?
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

You also need to set up an MX entry in your DNS server.

http://www.petri.co.il/configure_mx_rec ... raffic.htm
  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thank you guys for your replies, I did as you guys suggested without success, I try opening the 110 port on my windows firewall and router firewall, and nothing happen I disabled the windows firewall and had the same problem still.

I also try adding the mx records as suggested on the website u gave me ATNO but I couldn’t receive anything either.

Do you guys have any more suggestions that you could share so that I can solve this problem?


Thank you

Sincerely
Shadow Knight
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

It would be good if you could give us the exact error message. If one isn't showing on the screen, then look at the event viewer.

Start, run eventvwr.msc
  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well I checked the event viewer but so far I did not get any errors, here is a screen shot of all the events
Image
Any other suggestions?

Also here is a screen of my dns server,
Image
This may be the root of my problems.

Thank you all for your help
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

You have to look at application and system errors as well, not just DNS

Secondly,
[root@queyosepa /]# host ahc.com
ahc.com has address 72.20.143.80
ahc.com mail is handled by 10 cluster9.us.messagelabs.com.
ahc.com mail is handled by 20 cluster9a.us.messagelabs.com.
[root@queyosepa /]#

Shouldn't something be pointing to that server? ^^

[root@queyosepa /]# ping asher-server.ahc.com
ping: cannot resolve asher-server.ahc.com: Unknown host
  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

how can I point it to the server?...
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

http://scottanderson.us/index.php?entry ... 130-214013

See if that works.
  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

didnt have any effects on the Exchange server, I still can send/recieve in the network, but can only send across the internet.

any other Ideas? :(

Thanks for the help and patience
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Join the forum at http://www.minasi.com
They will have an answer for you.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Shadow Night, I'm not quite clear on what you are doing.

First of all AHC.com resolves to 72.20.143.80 however, the website won't display if there even is one. A ping works, but there does not appear to be a website there.

In your DNS screenshot, you appear to be running through most likely a Belkin router or possibly a SMC router. Obviously that means that, that is not the IP address assigned to you from your ISP.

AHC.com and the IP address 72.20.143.80 are listed in whois as being owned by Hess corporation, which is a large independent energy company. Not that you couldn't be the owner of Hess, but I find that highly unlikely.

Regardeless, if you aren't the owner of the domain name AHC.com, I'm going to make a guess, that you picked that name for your network, but never bought it as a "domain name" and are simply using that as the name for your internal network.

You can't do that. Well, I mean you can do that, but it's never going to be accessible from outside your tiny network. Not to mention that you would have had to have purchased a static IP address from your ISP.

The way I'm seeing things you set up a "server" and a single workstation as a home network domain. That isn't going to work as far as receiving mail or a website is concerned. If your "incoming" mail is going anywhere, it's probably going to Hess Corporation.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Is that what happened? I assumed that he worked for or owned that domain.
  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks for your response ATNO. I think I should have make this clear from the first post (silly me :oops: :oops: ) the business I’m trying to help is call Asher Health Care (that’s where the AHC comes from, and how I named their domain controller)
The business Domain site its http://www.ashercare.com/health.htm
I figure that if I was going to make their email server, AHC would be a good way to keep emails short.
Example
user@ashercare.com
user@AHC.com
Is it clear what I’m trying to do?
Any advice?
Sorry for all the confusion and thanks for the help guys

Sincerely Shadow Knight
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

You can't do that since ahc.com belongs to someone else.

[root@queyosepa /]# host ashercare.com
ashercare.com has address 64.202.163.201
ashercare.com mail is handled by 0 smtp.secureserver.net.
ashercare.com mail is handled by 10 mailstore1.secureserver.net.
[root@queyosepa /]#


Those are the mail servers for ashercare.com
Point exchange to them. Lose ahc.com
ashercare.local could be used for an internal domain if you need one and don't have one already.
  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 948
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks for your time and patience guys. I do appreciate your help

Thank you
Sincerely
Shadow Knight

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 16 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.