Finding Your IP

  • Jako
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • Jako
  • Posts: 227

Post 3+ Months Ago

I was on the phone with the army.mil, the site i couldn't access. It was becasue they blocked a rang of ips. When they needed my ip, they said to go to command prompt which i did, then type ipconfig. I got the results but they said that is not valid ip. Is this because i am on a wireless router or something. Or should it work?
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23458
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Correct. IPCONFIG will give you your internally assigned IP address, not the real one. Go to your Router's setup screen. You should be able to find your real one assigned by your ISP there in one of the menus. For example in my Siemens the LAN section shows my real internet IP assigned by my ISP and my internal LAN one.
  • Freakyp
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 210
  • Loc: M'boro. TN, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

yah.... by deafault your router settings can be accessed by "192.168.0.1"
  • DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 155
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
yah.... by deafault your router settings can be accessed by "192.168.0.1"


Well actually whilst many router manufacturers do use that range, they don't all use it! I've seen routers in the 10 range, routers as 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.254. Its up to the manufacturer to pick a standard range. Might be easier to find an online resource that shows your external address if your unsure how to get onto your router.

Both these sites should give it to you:

http://www.showmyip.com
http://checkip.dyndns.org:8245

S
  • WoRd Of WiSdOm
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 284
  • Loc: Riverside,California

Post 3+ Months Ago

This Might Help
Windows 95/98/me
Click Start
Click Run
Type Command.com hit enter
Type netstat in the command window

Windows 2000\Xp
Click Start
Click Run
Type Cmd
Type Netstat in the command window
This Might help find your ip internally and externally
  • SecureITGroup
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 293

Post 3+ Months Ago

to add to DuckIT's list.
http://www.whatismyip.com
  • jtrageser
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 38
  • Loc: server23.com

Post 3+ Months Ago

go to Start Menu>Run and type "cmd" then hit enter. When that window pops up just type in "netstat -n" and hit enter. You will see a list of ip address on your network. Your ISP's assigned ip to your computer will be listed there.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23458
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Not correct jtrageser.

netstat -n will show current connections but it won't show the external IP Address if you are behind a router. Here's a perfect example from my own:

Quote:
Microsoft Windows 2000 [Version 5.00.2195]
(C) Copyright 1985-2000 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>netstat -n

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
TCP 127.0.0.1:445 127.0.0.1:3838 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:3426 127.0.0.1:3427 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:3427 127.0.0.1:3426 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:3838 127.0.0.1:445 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:2632 205.188.9.9:5190 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3822 216.239.39.147:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3850 64.12.174.57:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3851 64.12.174.57:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3854 209.51.177.134:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3855 209.51.177.134:80 ESTABLISHED

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>


No external IP's listed there on the active connections... Just the internal ones and the foreign ones to which I have current connctions.
  • jtrageser
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 38
  • Loc: server23.com

Post 3+ Months Ago

ATNO/TW wrote:
Not correct jtrageser.

netstat -n will show current connections but it won't show the external IP Address if you are behind a router. Here's a perfect example from my own:

Quote:
Microsoft Windows 2000 [Version 5.00.2195]
(C) Copyright 1985-2000 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>netstat -n

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
TCP 127.0.0.1:445 127.0.0.1:3838 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:3426 127.0.0.1:3427 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:3427 127.0.0.1:3426 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:3838 127.0.0.1:445 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:2632 205.188.9.9:5190 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3822 216.239.39.147:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3850 64.12.174.57:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3851 64.12.174.57:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3854 209.51.177.134:80 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.254.2:3855 209.51.177.134:80 ESTABLISHED

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>


No external IP's listed there on the active connections... Just the internal ones and the foreign ones to which I have current connctions.


Oh, sorry about that.
  • blizzy
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • blizzy
  • Posts: 115

Post 3+ Months Ago

DuckIT wrote:
Quote:
yah.... by deafault your router settings can be accessed by "192.168.0.1"


Well actually whilst many router manufacturers do use that range, they don't all use it! I've seen routers in the 10 range, routers as 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.254. Its up to the manufacturer to pick a standard range. Might be easier to find an online resource that shows your external address if your unsure how to get onto your router.

S


just an update, for microsoft router it is 192.168.2.1

and another link to check ip is: http://www.whatismyip.com
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

All I have to say is:

Love your Sig Blizzy
  • DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 155
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
just an update, for microsoft router it is 192.168.2.1


Errr since when did Microsoft start making routers?? :lol:

S
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have a Microsoft Wireless Router. Works awesome.
  • Freakyp
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 210
  • Loc: M'boro. TN, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

*growls.... :x... I dont like microsoft..... they invade everything... whats next 'microsoft video cards' I think they just need to stick with Operating systems and Software.... but thats just my opinion :roll:
  • blizzy
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • blizzy
  • Posts: 115

Post 3+ Months Ago

grinch2171 wrote:
All I have to say is:

Love your Sig Blizzy


haha, thanks.

(forgot to check this thread for a few days)
  • blizzy
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • blizzy
  • Posts: 115

Post 3+ Months Ago

DuckIT wrote:
Quote:
just an update, for microsoft router it is 192.168.2.1


Errr since when did Microsoft start making routers?? :lol:

S


a while back, my room8 has no knowledge of computer so he ended up buying a microsoft router for our house. Don't get me wrong, it works well. Although it's like $30 more than linksys or D-link ones, it's almost foolproof.

That's how MS makes money, targetting on huge pool of common users who have no computer-based knowledge.
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Simplicity is a good thing sometimes. I will agree the wireless router ws a cinch to setup and easy to configure. The router I have was pitted against another router in a Maximum PC issue and did pretty well. The other one beat it out due to being a little bit faster. It is a good router and would recommend it. I've had it for almost a year and never had a problem with the router or wireless adapters. The built in firewall is good as well.
  • DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 155
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
a while back, my room8 has no knowledge of computer so he ended up buying a microsoft router for our house. Don't get me wrong, it works well. Although it's like $30 more than linksys or D-link ones, it's almost foolproof.


lol really didn't know they started making routers! Anyone got a link? (just for curiosity)

S
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/broad ... px?pid=003

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 19 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.