FireFox

  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

My Fire fox wont open up anymore I uninstalled it reinstalled nothing works I tried restorting to another date that didnt fix it Im running windows XP please help
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do you get an error message? Look at the event viewer for clues.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

Don2007 wrote:
Do you get an error message? Look at the event viewer for clues.

huh?
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Click Start then click on run. Type in eventvwr and press enter. Look for error messages related to your problem.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

Nothing that says FireFox I do have ALOT of erros tho!
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Post some of your errors, maybe one of them will lead to your issue.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

Image
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23458
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

there are no errors in that screen shot and the only warning is completely unrelated. The rest are just informational entries and not related to problems.

Check the knowledge base article here and see if anything listed applies to your situation

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_:_Iss ... 't_Startup

If nothing in that article helps, please don't overlook the link for the diagnostic tool

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic

Run that if nothing else works.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

Non of that applys just wont Open after I dbl click it
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23458
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Have you checked your shortcut properties to make sure the target path isn't fubar (like blank, or the wrong path?)

What happens if you go to My Computer or Windows Explorer and navigate to c:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\ and run firefox.exe
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

I dont have a run firefox.exe
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

No, he meant, you run firefox.exe as in double click on it after you get to the subfolder of "mozilla firefox".

If you don't know how to do that, you need to get a friend to help you.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

I did dbl click it nothing happens in mozilla firefox I posted this info last night of me trying to do it I guess the post didnt work"?
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Uninstall FireFox and then re-install it, see if that helps.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have uninstalled and reinstalled dont work..
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23458
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Before you try anything else try this. Highlight the file path below (including the quotation marks), then right click and select copy

"c:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"

Then go to Start>>Run
Clear out anything that is pre-typed in there and right click the blank spot and select paste.
Make sure it looks just like it does above.
Click OK.

Tell us if Firefox opens or doesn't
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

ATNO/TW wrote:
Before you try anything else try this. Highlight the file path below (including the quotation marks), then right click and select copy

"c:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"

Then go to Start>>Run
Clear out anything that is pre-typed in there and right click the blank spot and select paste.
Make sure it looks just like it does above.
Click OK.

Tell us if Firefox opens or doesn't

nope wont start! still I copied and pasted and nothnig happens!
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Open the task manager. I bet there are a bunch of firefoxes listed as running. End all of them and reboot. Then try to start it one more time. If it doesn't start, it's either corrupt or there is a missing service.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

Don2007 wrote:
Open the task manager. I bet there are a bunch of firefoxes listed as running. End all of them and reboot. Then try to start it one more time. If it doesn't start, it's either corrupt or there is a missing service.

no non are running
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Click start, run, type cmd and press enter.

When the black box opens, type:
cd \ and press enter

That should bring you to a prompt that looks like:

C:\>

Then type
dir /s firefox.exe and press enter.

Post the output here. Make sure you pay attention to the spaces when typing the commands.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

Image
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

I can't see that screen shot at all. Can you copy and paste it instead?
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator.GAMER.000>cd \

C:\>dir /s firefox.exe
Volume in drive C is HP_PAVILION
Volume Serial Number is 4AEF-3F08
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

No good. You missed the first command that I told you to run


cd \

Then run

dir /s firefox.exe
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

No they didn't
Hotshot wrote:
C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator.GAMER.000>cd \
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

You are correct and that means firefox.exe isn't there. Here is my output:

C:\>dir /s firefox.exe
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is BC3E-DE4C

Directory of C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox

02/21/2008 04:43 PM 7,655,024 firefox.exe
1 File(s) 7,655,024 bytes

Total Files Listed:
1 File(s) 7,655,024 bytes
0 Dir(s) 66,169,790,464 bytes free
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

so what do I do?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

You have to reinstall it but I would remove all entries in the registry first.

Go to the control panel and open add and remove programs, then look for Mozilla Firefox. If it's there, uninstall it.

Then click start, run, type regedit and press enter. When the registry box opens, click edit and find. Type firefox and press enter. Delete whatever value it finds and keep pressing F3 to continue. Search for mozzilla too.

Unless there is something that we are missing, I can't see any other way. Before you do all that, run those two commands again to make sure that it isn't there.

One other thing. If you have a shortcut on your desktop to firefox, right click on it and left click on properties. Then click find target. Where does it say it is located? Is it in the same path that mine is? Click on it there to see if it opens.
  • Hotshot
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Hotshot
  • Posts: 23

Post 3+ Months Ago

"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"


thats the target
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Then why didn't it show when you ran

dir /s firefox.exe ?

Try that again and give it time to search.
cd \

dir /s firefox.exe

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 36 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.