FIREWALL INSTALLATION

  • saniabra
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • saniabra
  • Posts: 56

Post 3+ Months Ago

firewall installation?
Please can anybody help me with this?
I just bought a firewall which I want to install on my network, but the problem here is that there was no firewall, and my server was connected direct to the satelite reciever and all the workstation are using this server's IP as gateway. the firewall need to be install just after the satelite reciever, in this case the firewall will take the place of the server, so the server is going to lost on the network, and the workstation can't join the server for their share folders internet etc.
I need advice and I appreciate all your effort, thanks.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

All Windows machines have a firewall. What firewall did you buy? What is the make and model of the receiver? How many ports does it have in the back of it? Run ipconfig /all on the server and post the results.
  • saniabra
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • saniabra
  • Posts: 56

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am having Sonicwall pro 1260 it has 26 ports at the back then 2 extra port
Console at the lest and uplink at the right.
I have not yet connected it to the stalite reciever, I wnt to make sure that i am doing the right thing.
Thats why I am here for adivce, and I apppreciate your initial concern.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

I never used sonicwall but I've heard good things about it.

http://www.sonicwall.com/downloads/Soni ... _Guide.pdf

Download and follow that .pdf. ^^
  • saniabra
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • saniabra
  • Posts: 56

Post 3+ Months Ago

everything is fine now with the firewall.
I was not having firewall before and my server uses the public IP given by the ISP, now that my sonicfirewall 1260 is using my Public IP, I am oblige to assign a local IP to my server.
but the question is how can remotely connect to my server from the internet?
please help.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Port forwarding is used for that.

http://www.sonicwall.com/downloads/Conf ... arding.pdf
  • saniabra
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • saniabra
  • Posts: 56

Post 3+ Months Ago

iI see that they are talking about web server and Smtp server.
mine is server 2003 active directory and domain controller
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Then you have to forward port 3389 for Remote Desktop and start the service as well.
  • saniabra
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • saniabra
  • Posts: 56

Post 3+ Months Ago

thank you bro,
I am very new to this, where should the port be forward?
the configuration is done on the server or on the sonicfirewall?
bear with me please. thanks
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6809
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

On the firewall.
  • saniabra
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • saniabra
  • Posts: 56

Post 3+ Months Ago

All the information you have give me above has brighting my mind how this systems work.
I have copied all my WAN info. on my server to the firewall but theres no internet connection, is there anything to do after configuring the IP address gateway.... etc?
is the any port to open for internet access?
Thanks for your patience.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Open a command prompt on you 'server' and run
ipconfig /all
Post the output.
  • saniabra
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • saniabra
  • Posts: 56

Post 3+ Months Ago

HI Firneds thanks you all for your help.
I made it after 3 nights without sleep.
your answer to my question was really helpful.
the source OPT and destination WAN was disable in the sinic firewall 1260, I set the
service to any
Source OPT
Destination WAN
WAN address is set to the IP gaven by my ISP
and boom the internet connection came through.
wuaooo its not easy but theres is always a way, just need good time
to concetrate and think.
God bless y'all

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 13 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.