Help! Deleted logonui.exe! Windows Welcome Screen Gone!

  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi.
I switched on my PC...Widowns Welcom sscreen comes up I log in, windows boots up blahblahblah.

Then, a Spyware Doctor balloon thingy pops up saying something along the lines of "Detected undrlying process lsass.exe Do you want to delete after next reeboot"

Naturally, I click yes (not know exactly what lsass.exe is) and reebot. But this time round. Instead of the welcome screen I get a black background and the classic logon screen thing...which i don't want.

I checked Control Panel, registry keys, everything was set to Welcom Screen style login, but whenever I reboot. It doesnt come up.

Has this got anything to do with the fact that lsass.exe was deleted? If so....Anyone have a copy out there I can restore?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

When you deleted it, did it go in the recycle bin?
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

Nope.

I searched in Windows32 folder or something along those lines, and it's infact, still there. So Spyware Doctor must have deleted an actual virus :O
Anyway, I stil have this welcome screen problem!

HELP!
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

To tell you the truth, you're better off using the login. I never liked those welcome screens.
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

Haha, Well it's for other poeple who use this computer (who aren't so computer literate) so it's easier for those people.

Any ideas anyone? Please help! haha.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do you have the install CD or can you use a restore point?
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Enable or Disable Fast User Switching
Note: To enable Fast User Switching, you must also enable the Use the Welcome screen option. This feature cannot be used if your computer is a member of a domain. To enable Fast User Switching:

1. Log on to the computer as an administrator.
2. Click Start, click Control Panel, and then click User Accounts.
3. Click Change the way users log on or off.
4. If it is not already selected, click to select the Use the Welcome screen check box.

NOTE: The Use Fast User Switching check box is unavailable until you click to select the Use the Welcome screen check box.
5. Click to select the Use Fast User Switching check box, and then click Apply Options. Quit the User Accounts tool.
  • tweakboy
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • tweakboy
  • Posts: 46
  • Loc: Glendale

Post 3+ Months Ago

Try to grab file from another pc, also can find file online,,

gl,
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

Restore point .... No luck.
The options in the control panel change absolutley nothing . :-(

I tried the XP CD that came with the PC but it didnt have anything on that could help. AAAHHHH. When computers don't work >_< Hahahahahaha.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

There should be a copy of that file on the CD. Try to copy it to wherever it's supposed to go.
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

I already found the lsaass whatever file is actually still on the system. So it msut be something else that is messing my Welcome screen thingy.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Try F8 and boot to last known good configuration.
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Last known good won't work since he has successfully logged in already.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Is that all the determines a last known good config, a successful login?
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yep
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/817164/en-us

This is exactly what's happening.
Any ideas on how to get that fix?
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Windows Update?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

There is a link to a hotfix on that page as well.
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

Apparently there are no available downloads as my windows is up to date MAX.

There's no link to a hotfix 0.o only to the support page.
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hmmm, maybe we should pay attention to this sentence
Quote:
A supported fix is now available from Microsoft, but it is only intended to correct the problem that is described in this article. Apply it only to computers that are experiencing this specific problem. This fix may receive additional testing. Therefore, if you are not severely affected by this problem, Microsoft recommends that you wait for the next Windows XP service pack that contains this hotfix.

To resolve this problem immediately, contact Microsoft Product Support Services to obtain the fix. For a complete list of Microsoft Product Support Services phone numbers and information about support costs, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://support.microsoft.com/contactus/?ws=support


You have to contact them and I suppose they will send you the fix.
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

I checked that out. I have to pay 35pounds for that support....NOO WAY!
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

They have balls charging for that. If you know the name of the file search for it on one of the FTP search engines.
http://www.ftpsearchengines.com/
  • tweakboy
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • tweakboy
  • Posts: 46
  • Loc: Glendale

Post 3+ Months Ago

How funny, why would you delete that,, hehe
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6810
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

tweakboy wrote:
How funny, why would you delete that,, hehe


Well one reason is because there is a virus/worm/nasty with the exact same name. Do some research before you go laughing at someone for removing it.

http://ask-leo.com/what_are_lsass_lsass ... _i_am.html
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well, it doesnt seem that this is the problem. I'll check in the Spyware doctor logs to see what it removed that day....

OK! MY BAD!

Turns out I'm missing C:\windows\system32\logonui.exe
Anyhelp?

I tried looking for my XP disk, but all i could find is the package thingy that it came in with the PC. (Honsetly I do have a genuine version of windows im not lying) It was one of those "only for distribution with FujitsuSiemens Systems" disks. Ahhhhh.

EDIT.

OK I found it in the i386. But it's logonui.EX_
I think this is a compressed version yeap? How can I uncompress it to .exe I know that changing the ending probably wont work.
  • Satoru
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • Satoru
  • Posts: 10

Post 3+ Months Ago

Problem Solved

Ok thanks to everyone who offered their help! Well appreciated! But I managed to solve the prblem myself. :P

Problem - Windows XP Home
When starting up the PC, instead of displaying the Welcome Screen, a classic logon box against a black background is displayed instead.

Cause - Missing logonui.exe
An anti-virus / anti-spyware program may have detected logonui.exe as an underlying process (as there is a virus/trojan whatever under a similar name) and deleted it.

Solution - Microsoft offer a hotfix for this....but they charge you!
Check in your C:\WINDOWS\system32 folder and try to find logonui.exe If this isnt present, then follow the rest of the steps.

1. Go to C:\WINDOWS
2. Click Search
3. All or part of the file name: logonui.exe
A word or phrase in the file: (leave blank)
Look in: Leave it as the folder WINDOWS
4. Click Search
5. The search should find logonui.EX_ in the folder C:\WINDOWS\i386 (hidden) COPY (not cut) this file into the C:\WINDOWS\system32 folder
6. Open Command Promt (START >> All Programs >> Accesories >> Command Promt
7. Type the following text EXACTLY (including the spaces etc.):
EXPAND c:\windows\system32\logonui.EX_ c:\windows\system32\logonui.exe
8. Close Command Promt and Restart/Shut Down your system.

Next time you start up, all should be fine!
  • hatemf90
  • Born
  • Born
  • hatemf90
  • Posts: 2

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi,

Sorry to post in an old thread, but I have the same problem, my AV quarantined logonui.exe, when I put it back it doesnt work, I tried every thing even the post above me, no use... It says cant open file: logonui.ex_

Please help im desperate..
  • hatemf90
  • Born
  • Born
  • hatemf90
  • Posts: 2

Post 3+ Months Ago

Can any one help please???
  • colossus88
  • Born
  • Born
  • colossus88
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

hatemf90 wrote:
Hi,

Sorry to post in an old thread, but I have the same problem, my AV quarantined logonui.exe, when I put it back it doesnt work, I tried every thing even the post above me, no use... It says cant open file: logonui.ex_

Please help im desperate..


It cant open the file because to windows, the file format is invalid. when you have your win XP cd in the drive, right click drive icon and go to explore. then go into the i386 file and search for 'loginui.ex_'. Copy and paste it to your desktop, right click on it and go to rename(or slow double-click on the file). change the '_' at the end of the filename to an 'e'and save/press enter/'ok button'.
Now, cut the file from your desktop and paste it into your C:\WINDOWS\system32 file. It should ask you if you wish to over-write the file if its already there(and it probably should be!!!) Say yes and once its done, shutdown your pc. Hopefully the next time you turn on your computer it should work. Good Luck. :)
  • ngowanlock
  • Born
  • Born
  • ngowanlock
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

If this issue occurs in Windows Vista its possible the LoginUI.exe has become corrupted
In Windows System Recovery Options (the menu where it will give you the option to perform start up repair) choose Command Prompt
Then complete each line pressing enter after each:
C:\
cd \windows\system32
rename LoginUI.exe LoginUI2.exe
copy X:\windows\system32\LoginUI.exe C:\Windows\system32\
exit

Then reboot problem should be solved.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 30 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.