Help with Boot.

  • romio
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • romio
  • Posts: 58

Post 3+ Months Ago

When I start my PC, the windows turn into black for at least 10 sec (after bios loads up), then I get the booting XP windows.

This happened after I installed windows XP on my Pen 4, 2.4, 512 Ram.


Any Ideas.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • jabba_master
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • jabba_master
  • Posts: 6

Post 3+ Months Ago

look at boot.ini in root folder (c:\)
it's hidden file.
Edit it first
  • romio
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • romio
  • Posts: 58

Post 3+ Months Ago

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=signature(b570b56)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
signature(b570b56)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

-----------------------------------------
what do I need to edit
  • MOC
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 490
  • Loc: Ocean City , Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

I thought it always did that .lol
Right click on MY Computer,then Advanced Tab.then in the center ,click on down on the bottom in the Startup and Recovery block ,click settings,
then when that opens at the top under system startup ,click the drop down bar,and make shure you have ("Microsoft windows XP Professional" /fastdetect ,, highlighted,and under that uncheck the 2 box's for time to display ,then hit okay.

If you were to edit it ,that button is in the same block with the other 3
that we just talked about.

If you had installed it over Windows 2000 Pro ,or another OS,
then alot of times it will ask you what OS you want to start in
at the beginning of the boot ,and somtimes you can shut off,
or turn on info during the initial boot threw the bios.

This is a quick way of getting past the OS choices in the start ,
you just type this in one time ,
Go to Start, Run, type = bootcfg /delete /ID2


Your problem is this :See your timeout ,and mine ,once you uncheck those box's I told you to uncheck ,you won't have that 30 sec's of black screen.
[boot loader]
timeout=0
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
[operating systems]
  • romio
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • romio
  • Posts: 58

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi guys, none of these helped.

After I get the


Searching for boot record from floppy..

Then the screen stays black for 15 to 20 sec.
  • MOC
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 490
  • Loc: Ocean City , Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

But you are able to get into XP right ,and it's giving a message
of (Searching for boot record from floppy) correct.

Were you doing anything in MS-Dos lately ?
If you never turned your System restore off ,then do that first ,
you will get a days of the month ,pick a time in Sep. when you no it was not doing it ,click on that day and click next ,then finish i think ,you'll see very easy .

Access System Restore from Within XP - Click Start > Control Panel > Performance and Maintenance. On the left side of the screen under See Also, click System Restore.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/usin ... store.mspx

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/usin ... may19.mspx



http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrep ... allfrm.htm
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
Have you ever done an XP repair using the XP CD (very easy)


http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/win_xp_rec.htm
http://www.theeldergeek.com/recovery_console.htm
http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -US;307654
And then there is a repair from the recovery console.
Start from the CD and choose New Install ,not upgrade,the repair mode, then choose the recovery console.
Run fixboot and fixmbr, your bootsector should be fixed then.
Did you recently add a new H/D or a 2nd H/D ?
  • romio
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • romio
  • Posts: 58

Post 3+ Months Ago

System restore is off now, I did add a different HD, not sure if this is the problem or not, also before I do any of system recovery, I have noticed something, after the Searching for boot record from floppy..
I get this

Press (shift-tab) to display network boot option
3. Try network boot first.


Could be something related to this.
  • MOC
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 490
  • Loc: Ocean City , Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

One other thing,do you still have an Operating System (XP) on this
H/D thats booting, if you do, hold F8 down while it's booting,and if it will let you into the safemode menue ,click on the center menue ( Load Last Known Good configuration) try it ,can't hurt .lol
And do you have other OS's on there too., like linux ?

Since you installed another H/D, did you configure the pins in the back of the H/D .
If the drive jumper pins are not configured correctly your computer will not boot. If you are not sure how to configure the jumper pins visit the manufacturer,s web site. and I would just check the ribbon cable 's again
just to make shure they are seated all the way in to the drive ,check the other end to at the MotherBoard.


You can try this : it will look for whatever is corrupted and fix it.
you would have to run it off a floppy disk .
http://www.jufsoft.com/badcopy/



Something to read:
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=289022

this is just to show you were the jumper pins on the H/D are if you did not no.and Check your BIOS settings for BOOT ORDER
http://www.pcin.net/help/articles/harddrive.php
  • romio
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • romio
  • Posts: 58

Post 3+ Months Ago

Why do I have this?



Press (shift-tab) to display network boot option
1. local drives boot
2. try local drives boot first, then network
3. try network boot first, then local drives
4. Boot according to bios settings.

Press 1,2,3 or 4

And if I don’t click the shift – tab… it will boot by selecting the 3 option.
  • MOC
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 490
  • Loc: Ocean City , Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

And your on W2K ,,right

You have to edit the MSDOS.SYS File
read this :
http://www.hexff.com/boot_menu.php

And when you get that menue(you are not in safe mode correct)
this is happening on a normal boot.

Do you have more than one Operating System ?
you have W2K ,,correct ,and did you install that over 98. you have to edit the Boot.ini file .

To make it visible, launch Windows Explorer, choose View → Tools → Folder Options → View and select the radio button "Show Hidden Files and Folders." To make it a file you can edit, right-click on it in Windows Explorer, choose Properties, uncheck the Read-Only box, and click OK.

Editing Files
To edit the file, open it with a text editor such as Notepad. Following is a typical boot.ini file for a PC that has two operating systems installed on it—Windows 2000.

[boot loader]
timeout=0
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
Edition" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="Windows 2000 Professional" /
fastdetect


As you can see, there are two sections in the file: [boot loader] and [operating systems]. To customize your menu and startup options, edit the entries in each section. Before editing boot.ini, make a copy of it and save it under a different name (such as boot.ini.old), so that you can revert to it if you cause problems when you edit the file.

read this :
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000492.htm

http://www.winnetmag.com/Windows/Articl ... /7494.html
  • romio
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • romio
  • Posts: 58

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have windows XP, I am not sure what the old HD had, it migh be 2000 server.

as for the boot.ini file I only have one OS system:

[boot loader]
timeout=0
default=signature(b570b56)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
signature(b570b56)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=option /fastdetect

I also not sure about the noexecute=option,

Still don't know how to fix it, could it be the HD, but i assume if its the HD it wouldnt only have a problem with this part.... it would be a general problem.

or it could be a bios setting.. but i never faced such a thing before.


//Edit: The jumper is set on the right place.
  • MOC
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 490
  • Loc: Ocean City , Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

I would just do a repair (real easy ) with XP,and that may solve it .
Take ya 20 mins.

Put the XP disk in the CD-Rom,and at the Setup Screen press the Enter Key.

You will be taken to the Windows XP Licensing Agreement. After reading the agreement press F8 to proceed.


The next screen gives you the option to do a fresh (clean) install or to repair the selected Windows XP installation. To run a Repair Install Press "R" at this time.
***CAUTION*** if you do not see the option to repair the selected Windows XP installation DO NOT choose the option to continue installing a fresh copy without repairing as that will overwrite your data and cause unrecoverable data loss.

Windows XP will copy the necessary files to your Hard Drive to begin the installation and will then reboot. You will see the message that informs you to "Press any key to boot the CD". Do not press any keys this time just wait a few seconds and the Windows Startup Screen will be displayed. Following this you will be greeted by the Windows XP Setup Screens.
The above was taken from Harry O.'s site.
http://www.webtree.ca/windowsxp/repair_xp.htm
Just scroll down when you get there.

Only because this is so easy to do ,and will probably fix the problem.
  • romio
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • romio
  • Posts: 58

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks MOC for giving your time, I made the repair and it works smoothly now.
  • MOC
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 490
  • Loc: Ocean City , Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

No problem ,glad it's fixed ,,funny sometimes we spend so much time
trying to dissect the problem ,when almost all of the time it's so much
easier just to run a repair,thats the great thing about XP and W2K.lol

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 14 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 127 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.