Help with Partitions

• sallyanne
  • Born
  • Born
  • sallyanne

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi

I was reading your info. I'm new to WXP Pro. Can you explain right from baby steps for the following problem:

I have Windows XP Pro. One 5GB C Drive partition and one 15GBB D Drive partition. I want to increase the 5GB partition to 7GB or whatever.

Is Partition Magic the best tool? Easiest? What precautions should I take? i.e. uninstall NAV2004?

Can this be done from WXP Pro CD-ROM? If so, how ? Please describe even the step of how to boot from a cd-rom and what to type. Assume I no nothing please :)

Thank you very much.

SA

ok, so I found that I wanna use Partition MAgic so yeah, please advise as to how to properly use it and what to do to make sure it works as it should. No software conflicts etc.

Also, after a couple of years should I just format? How do I make 2 partitions while formatting?

Thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yeah, b_heyer. UNFLUX did split this one out.

With partition magic, (and it's been awhile since I used it so I'm going from memory since I don't have it installed at the moment), the first thing that you'll need to do is find the option to resize your larger drive and make it smaller, so that you have more free space on your hard drive. Submit that job first. Then after that job's done, you'll need to find the option to increase the size of the drive you want enlarged. Increase it to whatever amount of space you freed up. Then submit it. It will probably ask you to restart your computer in both cases. That's fine. It needs to do that. Depending on your settings, it may go into a mode where it remaps drive letters. I would suggest letting it do that since previously installed programs may need that information. It will add to the time it takes to do this task, but well worth it.