IE7 - Not Remembering Passwords

  • kbergmann
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 659
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I was wondering if anyone might know how to solve this issue. My friends had IE6 and told it not to remember passwords. I made it remember them again. They then upgraded and told it not to remember passwords. I have tried and tried to fix it and it won't ask me to remember passwords again. Tried googling the past few days for an answer and no luck.

I think I have to edit the registry as they want yahoo.com to remember passwords and that site won't ask, even if I reset it to factory in the tools menu.

Any suggestions would be great, thank you.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Tools, internet options, content, autocomplete, prompt me to remember passwords.
  • kbergmann
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 659
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I think I tried that but I will try again.

Would that make a difference, if when they went on yahoo and said "never remember the password for this site" ?

Thanks for the suggestion thou, and I'll give it a shot and let you know how it turns out.
  • Jenie0109
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 410

Post 3+ Months Ago

I switched to firefox because of the same problem
  • kbergmann
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 659
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have only one work around to ensure that things work right. I shouldn't need to do this but this is my idea:

Uninstall FF3 for them.

Restart.

Install FF3 again ( to ensure the registry and everything is reset )

Install Opera.

OR

re-install windows from scratch and that would fix it for IE. But if that fixed it for IE, then that tells me it has something to do with the registry. This is probably a microsoft "enhancement" with IE7.

It's a PIA to fix this and I'm not willing to test it on my machine as I use IE for testing ... so hopefully the opera / reinstalled FF3 will work. They use two browsers kids and parents so they don't kick eachother out of email.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

There is no reason to do a clean install.
  • IcyDragoon
  • Student
  • Student
  • IcyDragoon
  • Posts: 65

Post 3+ Months Ago

Try to delete all the cache files and try again with the new settings.
  • mnanson
  • Born
  • Born
  • mnanson
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

For those that are still looking, check for the following registry keys, create them if absent, change their value to 1 to turn them on.
Hopefully this will sort you out, works for me and id tried all the obvious things!

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel

create the following DWORD entries if theyre absent, remember to set the value to 1, & restart IE

FormSuggest
FormSuggest Passwords

Good luck!!
  • lindsay
  • Student
  • Student
  • lindsay
  • Posts: 88

Post 3+ Months Ago

yes, i had the same problem so downloaded and installed the fire fox in my computer.

it is working fine , it remember the passwords.
so you can also switch internet explorer to Firefox.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 9 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 76 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.