2 IPs in 1 LAN card

• dylantlc
  • Born
  • Born
  • dylantlc

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello, everybody, i am a newbie here, well i have a simple question here.. I have 1 LAN card in my pc, which has a public IP of its own, HOW-to add another IP to it? i think i saw some article by using a command-line..but I have forgotten the link :(

can anybody please help? thank you.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

You didn't say what OS you use, but Providing your using XP go into Network Connections from Control Panel and right click the entry for your NIC (probably called Local Area Connection) and click properties. Now double click the entry for Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)....

Now the first thing to be aware of is I don't believe this way will work with DHCP, so on the first page I think it has to be set to static ('Use the following IP address') Hopefully on this first page you'll see an IP address, subnet mask and gateway. If your ISP allocates an IP address then this way probably won't work. There may be another way, I don't know.

Now click Advanced and at the top where it says IP addresses click add and add your second address. It should appear below your first one. Click OK etc when your done.

Couple of points:

I have no idea how well this will work, as I've never had the need/opportunity to add multiple IP's to one card. If the LAN that the second IP connects to goes off to any other networks then you'll have to add routes (this is probably unlikely but thought i'd throw it in)

If it doesn't work then (depending on your OS) i'd try getting a second NIC and installing that. That generally works very well.

Also, you say your NIC has a public IP so you need to make sure you have a software firewall installed if you don't already.

Phew think thats everything!

S
  • dylantlc
  • Born
  • Born
  • dylantlc

Post 3+ Months Ago