LAN Problem

• varma
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • varma
  • Loc: India

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello

I am new to LAN. We are facing a network problem and wants to change the domain machine. Around 140 computers (windows OS) connected to a domain in our network. At present each machine is taking around 10 minutes for booting. Also we are not able to register the SQL Server 2000 to SQL Clients. For testing, we have created another domain and added 2 machines to that domain and tested. It is working fine. Our team came to conclusion that the OS of the domain was corrupted and decided to change to another machine. Now what are the steps to follow for creation of another domain with the same name and add all the 140 computers. The present desktops and other user configurations should not change.

Please advise the steps to be taken.

Thanks
Varma
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi there

First be aware that there is no way someone can give you a complete A to B setup of this. Its just too complex a job to give you every detail. I'll give some tips though!:

Firsty and perhaps most importantly:Do you have Microsoft Exchange on this server? If so this complicates the whole thing a great deal. If you do have exchange then personally I would not switch to a new domain.

What domains are the new and old? I am presuming Windows 2000? If it is Windows 2000 and your clients are also either Windows 2000 or Windows XP then it is very important that you have DNS setup correctly on the DC. All client machines should have the domain controller as their primary DNS. This often causes slow logons and various other nasty issues. I may have a DNS guide somewhere if you need it.

You say all configs should stay the same? Not possible - some reconfiguration will be needed especially if you switch to a new domain!