Minimize Outlook to the System Tray

  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6376
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

I absolutely LOVE this! I use email all day long, but I hate having it open
on my task bar just to be there. I get annoyed with it and close, but
always need it, and opening it over and over is annoying too. So this
fixes both annoyances!

Here's how you do it:
    Start regedit and trek to the following key --

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ Microsoft \ Office \ 10.0 \ Outlook \ Preferences

    - Right-click in the right side, Choose New
    - choose Data Type: REG_DWORD
    - Make the Value Name: MinToTray
    - right click on the new key, Modify, edit the key's value of Data: 1 (0 to disable MinToTray)

This is perfectly safe, but if you are uncomfortable using regEdit, DO NOT
DO THIS. Just be careful and follow the directions exactly.

Enjoy! :thumbsup:

[original credit to http://www.tweakxp.com]
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6801
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

You can also download a free program that will do it for you. You can get this program here
  • rjmthezonenet
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 526
  • Loc: St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Sweet! I wish that could be down with GroupWise.
(It doesn't appear possible.)
  • digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 5149
  • Loc: SC-USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Actually, Outlook 2003 has that feature built in ;)
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 5739
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Neat, but not finding that key in my registry (Win2K, OE6, Office 2K here - I don't use Outlook 2000)
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

rjmthezonenet wrote:
Sweet! I wish that could be down with GroupWise.
(It doesn't appear possible.)


Check with your network admin. He/she should have installed Groupwise Notify when Groupwise was installed. Groupwise Notify sits in your system tray and pops up a nice little message anytime an email is received. You can choose to open it, save it for later or delete it from the notification window.
  • rjmthezonenet
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 526
  • Loc: St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks ATNO. :-)

We have Notify. I'd like to free up some space on the task bar and not have to start/exit the GroupWise application for each e-mail (I get a lot!).
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6376
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

well i love this little tweak, just wanted to share. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

rjmthezonenet wrote:
Thanks ATNO. :-)

We have Notify. I'd like to free up some space on the task bar and not have to start/exit the GroupWise application for each e-mail (I get a lot!).


Not sure I understand this. All you should have to do is click close on the notify then open later at your convenience.
  • technikerstr
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • technikerstr
  • Posts: 22
  • Loc: Illinois

Post 3+ Months Ago

UNFLUX wrote:
well i love this little tweak, just wanted to share. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!


Thanks UNFLUX! That worked great and saves so much space!

~Technikerstr
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6376
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

glad it worked for you technikerstr :)
  • f2x
  • Born
  • Born
  • f2x
  • Posts: 2

Post 3+ Months Ago



hello!

HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ Microsoft \ Office \ 10.0 \ Outlook \ Preferences

i have 9.0 after the \ OFFICE and it doesn;t work even if i try what you suggest.

do i absolutely need to see 10.0?

i have outlook 2000 (9.0.0.2814)

thanks
f2x

  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Easy way to find out. First back up your registry, or at the very least that key so you can restore it if you screw it up.

Then try what UNFLUX suggested. If it doesn't work, delete the DWORD or simply restore the key to the original state.

From what I can see it won't affect any critical operation of your OS if it fails.
  • f2x
  • Born
  • Born
  • f2x
  • Posts: 2

Post 3+ Months Ago

i tried and no luck.

i even re-booted.

i am sad LOL..

seriously... any other options i can play with?
  • slicksix
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • slicksix
  • Posts: 8
  • Loc: Fairfax, Virginia

Post 3+ Months Ago

Can someone post or pm me on how to do this for Winamp? I thought I remembered seeing it posted on one of these boards some where, but I can't find it anymore. Thanks
  • JrzyCrim
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2062

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have V5.03.

Try going to Options > Preferences > General Preferences: near the bottom Look under 'Show Winamp in:' Check the box for 'System Tray', uncheck 'Taskbar'.

I'm not sure about earlier versions...

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 16 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.