need help with excel

• KweiJune
  • Born
  • Born
  • KweiJune

Post 3+ Months Ago

if i wanted to keep a zero infront of a number, how do i get excell to read the number with a zero infront of it?
ex: 03912
but when put in exell, it reads it as : 3912
so how do i get it to read it as :03912
????
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Format Cell(s) :)
  • KweiJune
  • Born
  • Born
  • KweiJune

Post 3+ Months Ago

i'm kind of new at excell, so could you give me better directions?...
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Right click on any given cell and select Format Cells. In the number tab, select "text". I know that seems a little odd. The default is General and even if you choose Number, the leading 0 will disappear after you exit the cell. The only way to keep the leading 0 is to format it as text.

Keep in mind, if you format a cell as text, you probably won't be able to do any calculations with the numbers. So it depends on what your purpose is as to how to format it.

Also it's nice to know that you can highlight an entire column, or row, or blocks and right click on the highlighted area. Then format the cells the way you want it and it will change all of them to the new format.
  • KweiJune
  • Born
  • Born
  • KweiJune

Post 3+ Months Ago

it took away all of the zeros, but when i add in a new zero it stays.
now i have like 3000 different cells to add a zero infront of....
i guess the person that sent me the file messed up.
so now i need help with this problem.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator

Post 3+ Months Ago

KweiJune -- it's a little difficult to understand what you were saying in the last reply. Are you saying that you have a file that did have the leading zeros? If so, then those should have already been formatted OK. What exactly are you trying to do, add new cells? or revise existing ones.
  • KweiJune
  • Born
  • Born
  • KweiJune