Do I need a new OS when I purchase a new Mobo?

• Nohealzforu
  • Born
  • Born
  • Nohealzforu

Post 3+ Months Ago

These are the the components I'm looking at purchasing. I'm having a Friend build my system for me and I was just curious if the hard drive I have now with windows XP will just plug into the new Mobo and work like that or if I will need to get a new HD and install a new OS on it. (I was kind of looking for a reason to get Vista 64 anyways) I was also going to use my CD/DVD Drives from my old system as well instead of purchasing new ones. Will those just plug and play with my new Mobo or will I need to find the CDs that they came with from years ago? Thanks for all the help in advance.

P.S. I'm a newb with the computer lingo so anything put into newb terms would be appreciated :P
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131284 Motherboard

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115041

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820220334

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6817139006
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

The old hard drive with the OS will work, however, be sure to have all the new hardware drivers handy, as well as drivers for any of your old hardware you plan to keep, because you'll need to install them, and the first time you boot to Windows it's going to tell you you'll have to activate. You won't be able to activate online because your network adapter drivers won't be installed yet. Try to activate online. Know that it will fail, but there will be instructions on how to call Microsoft. You may need your OS product key when you call so have it available. Microsoft is actually very efficient with their activation over the phone. You shouldn't have any issues.