Ports

• beings
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have a few questions. Now keep in mind i am very new at ports i only discovered how to use them recently. I am currently using the windows Xp built in firewall but i intend to buy a linksys firewall/router soon (is this firewall any good?). Anyway my question is when I want to open a port i go to firewall properties then under services i go add. As an example i put Torrent as my description but then i do not know what to put in Name or Ip address of the computer hosting this service on your network. So not realy knowing what to put i put in "Winxp". Torrent service now works through the windows built in fire wall. Was this right to type in Winxp for the name or address ip? seems to work but i want to be sure.

oh and by the way can anyone refresh my memory as to what the command for refreshing the internet is.... i know its something "release" or something like that.

Thanks all
  • kuttan
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Loc: India

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hai there,

1 :arrow: A port is something that really gets you connected form one computer to another computer. Different internet based program uses different ports. Usually "hppt" uses port 80, FTP" uses 21 like that. In the case of torrents and downloading software its very difficult to block ports. Because these softwares are buit to change ports if one of the ports which it is using is blocked. So you cant stop a torrent by just blocking a single port. You will have to block the entire ports. If you do that some thing that will be useful for you will also get blocked. Eg:- Yahoo messenger uses port <5000 for its various communications. So if you block that port the yahoo messenger will not work properly.