Removing windows

  • alamode
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 927
  • Loc: Pakistan

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have 2 windows installed in the same partition.. When i had one windows installed only there was some problem and it started to show me BSOD right after windows logo on boot and then comptuer would restart so i decided to install windows again on the same drive in which windows was already installed and i didnt want to lose my data so i didnt format it.. Now i have fixed both the windows i ran recovery console and ran chkdsk /r on the windows which was showing BSOD and now both are working fine.. I want to remove the 1 that i installed and keep the old version, How do i do that ?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

There is an easy way to tell it to boot to one of them and ignore the other. Would you like to do that instead and not take the chance of damaging everything?
  • alamode
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 927
  • Loc: Pakistan

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yeah i can edit the boot.ini file but i also want to delete the files, i dont want unnecessary space to be occupied.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

The only way I would attempt that is by sectors. Maybe gparted would work.


Someone in another forum just mentioned a program called Boot & Nuke.
  • Bgnn32
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • Bgnn32
  • Posts: 435
  • Loc: Western Mass

Post 3+ Months Ago

Um...... how did you install 2 copies of windows on the same partition? That is kind of impossible.
  • grinch2171
  • Moderator
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6801
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Bgnn32 wrote:
Um...... how did you install 2 copies of windows on the same partition? That is kind of impossible.


No it isn't. It definitely isn't recommended but you can do it.
  • Bgnn32
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • Bgnn32
  • Posts: 435
  • Loc: Western Mass

Post 3+ Months Ago

Really, how would you do that, there are certain system files that need to live in a certain spot, would they be shared between the two installs?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

If I remember correctly, when you install windows and it sees an existing version, it asks you if you want to use the same location or not. You can say no and you'll have two installs.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 8 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.